Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Overclocking with stock cooling

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-04, 10:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
Overclocking with stock cooling


Hey guys, I want to OC my CPU, but I can't afford a larger HSF or water cooling, so I was wondering how far I could push my CPU/components in a case with a temp of around 15-20C and on average a CPU at 29C on idle and 35+ on load (cant really be sure tho). My ram has aluminum sinks on them so they should be able to be pushed alittle aswell.

Thanks!
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-04, 10:25 PM   #2
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
So long as your overall load temp is under 60c* then you will have no issues whatsoever. The only real benefit of having exotic cooling is to be able to use aggrerssive vcore. So long as your temps are in spec...max her out
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 01:35 AM   #3
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Before Barton stock cooling, you couldn't OC with a stock heat sink to speak of (That includes Athlon XP Thoroughbreds and earlier).

Now you can push it but always watch your temps.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 03:20 AM Thread Starter   #4
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
Yeah I have set my mobo to yell at me if my CPU is over 60C.

60C is ok for the 3400+ CPU?
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 04:15 AM Thread Starter   #5
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
I'm trying to use nVidia System Utility to OC my rig, but when I do OC it, and apply the changes it says "Settings will only apply for this session." and I hit "OK" and I restart my PC and its back to normal again (not OCed)! I'm I missing something here? What's the point of OCing it with nVidia System Utility if it only stays until you restart? lol

I got my rig up to 2604MHz (2411MHz stock) and my CPU die was only 29-30C on idle.

Also, my RAM settings stayed. I changed my RAS to CAS delay settings, and they stayed after I restarted. I dont get it...

Last edited by Swatdog; 12-05-04 at 04:21 AM.
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 05:21 AM   #6
shuRe
Member

 
shuRe's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK

 
that sounds like the socket temp to me, i had an asus k8v and had temps for 28 idle, then 33 odd load. When i moved to my DFI 250gb it read the cpu diode (correct temp of the cpu) and im getting 40 odd idle, and 50 ish load.

I wouldnt push your socket temp past 37, as the cpu would be at about 60C if its the same as my board
shuRe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 08:53 AM   #7
SavageBasher
Member

 
SavageBasher's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Northeast PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swatdog
I'm trying to use nVidia System Utility to OC my rig, but when I do OC it, and apply the changes it says "Settings will only apply for this session." and I hit "OK" and I restart my PC and its back to normal again (not OCed)! I'm I missing something here? What's the point of OCing it with nVidia System Utility if it only stays until you restart? lol

I got my rig up to 2604MHz (2411MHz stock) and my CPU die was only 29-30C on idle.

Also, my RAM settings stayed. I changed my RAS to CAS delay settings, and they stayed after I restarted. I dont get it...
Thats what happens when you software OC it.. just be a man and change it in the bios...
SavageBasher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 02:17 PM Thread Starter   #8
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageBasher
Thats what happens when you software OC it.. just be a man and change it in the bios...
lol I would, but I dont have the option to. Quite wierd The only option I see even remotely close to OCing was the HT multiplier (currently on 4x) and it has the option of going up to 6x+ I believe.

Last edited by Swatdog; 12-05-04 at 02:29 PM.
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 02:19 PM   #9
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
I find that ClockGen works well for mine.
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 02:23 PM Thread Starter   #10
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schalldampfer
I find that ClockGen works well for mine.
I tried ClockGen as well as nVidia System Utilities, but I dont think ClockGen supports my mobo - I didn't find it in the list.
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 02:27 PM Thread Starter   #11
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shuRe
that sounds like the socket temp to me, i had an asus k8v and had temps for 28 idle, then 33 odd load. When i moved to my DFI 250gb it read the cpu diode (correct temp of the cpu) and im getting 40 odd idle, and 50 ish load.

I wouldnt push your socket temp past 37, as the cpu would be at about 60C if its the same as my board
I don't know, those temps seem about right. I felt the HS and it wasnteven near warm, possibly even felt a hint of coldness. I know the HS is making good contact with the die, because I recently bought the Nanotherm PCM+ thermal grease and applied it (works wonders).
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 02:28 PM   #12
Schalldampfer
Member

 
Schalldampfer's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Under a ceiling.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swatdog
I tried ClockGen as well as nVidia System Utilities, but I dont think ClockGen supports my mobo - I didn't find it in the list.
Sorry to hear that. My newbie suggestions are now all out. Oh... and when I clocked my A64 3200+ to 2.4ghz, the temperature went up to about 50C with 2 scans going on. Should I be worried? It's an Asus K8V SE Deluxe.
Schalldampfer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 02:34 PM   #13
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schalldampfer
Sorry to hear that. My newbie suggestions are now all out. Oh... and when I clocked my A64 3200+ to 2.4ghz, the temperature went up to about 50C with 2 scans going on. Should I be worried? It's an Asus K8V SE Deluxe.
Somewhat high, but still within safe limits. You just need some better cooling if you plan on overclocking again.

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-05-04, 10:08 PM   #14
bobburn
Member

 
bobburn's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swatdog
I tried ClockGen as well as nVidia System Utilities, but I dont think ClockGen supports my mobo - I didn't find it in the list.
yeah it does, it's under the nvidia nforce 250 chipset software. All nforce 150/250 mobos work with clockgen.
bobburn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-04, 12:16 AM Thread Starter   #15
Swatdog
Member

 
Swatdog's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California

 
Well I figured out how to sucessfully OC in my BIOS, and I OCed my CPU to about 2.567 GHz and I played a CPU intense game on it for about an hour and saw that the temp was at 50C. Is that alittle too much? I know that you guys said that I can maybe push it to 60C but no more.

2.567GHz (or very similar) @ 1.5v (voltage ok?)
Swatdog is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?