• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Oc'ed TbredB = Trouble with HDD!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Andreas1327

This morning i Oc'ed my TbredB XP 2400+ from it's 2.2 Ghz (133x 16.5) to 2.24 Ghz (166x 13.5). The Vcore that was stable was 1.75 V and everything run fine. Sandra burn wizard didn't have any problems games run beautifully and everything was fine. Until the moment i used my second HDD. I have a WD800JB as the master with OS and Programs and an WD300BB with mp3's videos and stuff. After the OC the 300BB couldn't read any file right. I did checkdisk and during the test it erased a bunch of files (mp3's !!). I entered safe mode and then after a second check it erased more!!(luckily the 90 % is burnt on CD's). After two attempts to format (couldn't perform the format) I got everything to stock and then everything worked fine. I formatted the drive and copied some things in it.Everything fine.When I OC again the same problems appear. Note that at any speed at 166 FSB the 300BB doesn't work right while the 800JB works at any FSB perfectly.I searched WD for a firmware but nothing.Could you help me??? The performance increase is big!! I don't wanna lose 166!!

Hmm. Make sure that your PCI frequency, if adjustable, is at 33MHz in the bios. It's possible that your processor is still unstable even after Sandra's burn in. I reccommend running Prime95 on prioity 10 over night. This may be a long shot, but it might be possible your CPU is hogging so much power from your power supply that it can't keep up, and is starving other devices of power. What is your power supply?