Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

linux gaming?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-04, 01:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
linux gaming?


Just out of curiousity...How does Linux work with games?
Is their a Dist that is specifically designed to work with Games?

im just installign Mandrake to learn about linux, and im interested in switching my other computers if i like it, but id want my games to play just as good (HL2, Warcraft etc..)

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 02:08 PM   #2
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
You need to get Cedega. www.transgaming.com

Warcraft III works perfectly for me. I have never played HL2.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 02:10 PM   #3
Tatuya
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Crunching Einstein@Home

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRD
You need to get Cedega. www.transgaming.com

Warcraft III works perfectly for me. I have never played HL2.
Fishy informed me that the CS:S stress test left him with an average of 78.8 fps on a Ti4600. So it works, VERY well.
Tatuya is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 02:13 PM   #4
MRD
Senior Member

 
MRD's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CT

10 Year Badge
 
Warcraft runs as if it were native. I cannot tell whether I'm running it in Linux or Windows if I don't minimize it and look at my desktop. I see no difference at all whatsoever in speed, quality, or anything else.
MRD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 02:16 PM   #5
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
There are a few games that support Linux natively. UT04 is one. Doom3 I think also has a linux patch.
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 02:36 PM Thread Starter   #6
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
nice just wodnering =)

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 02:48 PM   #7
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9mmCensor
There are a few games that support Linux natively. UT04 is one. Doom3 I think also has a linux patch.
Not sure if the Doom 3 linux version ever came out. The game seemed to fall flat on its face once everyone tried it. I lost intrest in the first 2 mins of playing the game.

UT2k3 and UT2k4 are nativte. Not sure of the other UTs.

HL works and The Source Engine works, so I must assume HL2 works.

Farcry works untill I pull the trigger, I don't have very high hopes for this working.

Transgamming has a hige list of all the Linux games that are out there. Some nativte, some under Cedega.

http://transgaming.org/gamesdb/

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-04, 03:26 PM   #8
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by {PMS}fishy
Not sure if the Doom 3 linux version ever came out.
Looks like it has.
http://www.webdog.org/plans/476/
http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/linux/doom/
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-04, 03:44 PM   #9
electromagnetic
Member

 
electromagnetic's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Did Cedega used to be WineX? Looks like they charge for the software. I've currently got UT2k4 and ET running on my Linux box, haven't tried Doom 3 yet, but it didn't run well on Windows with similar hardware so I doubt it would be playable. I would say the install for ET was an absolute breeze, UT2k4 was a bit more difficult, but I actually had to use a shared DVD drive from a Windows box to get it installed. Getting the video driver installed might be a bit more tricky, though the nvidia driver is just a script now, but you still have to edit your XF86 config file.
electromagnetic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-04, 04:07 PM   #10
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by electromagnetic
Did Cedega used to be WineX? Looks like they charge for the software. I've currently got UT2k4 and ET running on my Linux box, haven't tried Doom 3 yet, but it didn't run well on Windows with similar hardware so I doubt it would be playable. I would say the install for ET was an absolute breeze, UT2k4 was a bit more difficult, but I actually had to use a shared DVD drive from a Windows box to get it installed. Getting the video driver installed might be a bit more tricky, though the nvidia driver is just a script now, but you still have to edit your XF86 config file.
You do know that UT2k4 and DOOM 3 are both nativte, correct?

Getting the Nvidia drivers to work is a piece of cake, all you need to do is run the script, and change "nv" to "nvidia" doesn't get much eaiser.

Yes Cedga is WineX, they changed the name when they went to version 4. You have to pay if you want it to work, but if not you can always try the CVS, its free, but people have limited success. I have seen it working, but I just pay, as its not very expensive, and works so much better than the CVS. Install is a breeze. I think they may have crippled the CVS just to make you pay for the real version, thats just my opinon though, and I have no proof to back it up.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-04, 04:51 PM   #11
electromagnetic
Member

 
electromagnetic's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Not sure what you mean by native. There's a shell script on the UT2k4 DVD. Doom 3 you need to download linux binaries or something, I really don't know.

That seems like a really horrible way to get people to buy software if you're correct, what if Microsoft did that? Just imagine how much they could charge for a bug free version of XP
electromagnetic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-04, 05:17 PM   #12
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by electromagnetic
Not sure what you mean by native. There's a shell script on the UT2k4 DVD. Doom 3 you need to download linux binaries or something, I really don't know.

That seems like a really horrible way to get people to buy software if you're correct, what if Microsoft did that? Just imagine how much they could charge for a bug free version of XP
Nativte as opposed to emulated.

UT2k4 has a nativte linux installer, where as HL must be emulated using a 3rd party app. Hope that clears it up a bit.

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?