• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bought the Fortron Blue Storm 500 watt psu.... Was it a good choice?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TUK101

I have been using Fortron and Sparkle for the past 3-4 years now and have always been very happy with thier products. So naturally when it came time to upgrade from my 350 watt Fortron psu I logged onto Newegg and did a search through the Fortron PSU's. This is what I found and ordered: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-104-934&depa=0
As you can see if you follow the link, it has sleaved lines and a nice color and looks to be very efficient and lots of power. After trying to run raid and several fans and a dvd reader and burner it has been straining my 350 watt Fortron to where I was getting errors from my FX5900 saying that the power connector to it was unhooked, which it wasnt but rather the 12 volt line had dropped that low. Hopefully this new 500 watt Fortron will do the trick, especially since I just plopped down just shy of $100 for it lol. :bang head :santa:

plz let us know how well it performs. hope it's a good one :) .

larva, you seem entusiastic :p , what did you hear about this one?

Larva's probably had the most experience with Fortron of anyone else on the board...

I'm waiting for this one to appear in Canada too for my next build. Fortron's already got me hooked, and I've only owned one of their PSU's ;)

Larva is the one that turned me onto Fortron. He is also the one who brought it to my attention that Fortron and Sparkle are pretty much on in the same. It surprises me to hear that there are people who have bad things to say about Fortron since when I used to frequent this area of the furums a year ago Fortron had nothing but a good name.

TUK101 said: