Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

p2p programs wont work with nated router, why?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-04, 07:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
IrQ
I NEED TO CONTACT LUTAWICASA OR SILVERSINKSAM



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA

 
p2p programs wont work with nated router, why?


First off for the basic info. I have comcast cable. I have the modem connected into a linksys 4 port router. DHCP is enabled. Nat is enabled. Port triggering for the default ports for emule is enabled.

Since I started using this router I have had no luck getting Kazaa and subsidiares al beit kazaa lite nor emule to work. I have read around online without much success. No software firewalls are turned on or installed at the moment. Even still I havnt seen blackice picking up the connection for these programs. I have port triggering enabled and would like to keep dhcp enabled. I also have NAT enabled and can't turn it off because I don't want to have to register the modem through one computer and network everything through that computer.

My question is how do I get Emule and such to work with ports 4662 and 4672 to work on this router with DHCP and NAT enabled?
IrQ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-04, 07:51 PM   #2
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
If you are behind nat, you won't be able to get a file off Kazaa from someone else behind nat; there's no way for them to connect to you to upload files.

If you are behind nat, it is impossible for anyone to connect to you without port forwarding. If they are behind nat, you can't connect to them... so there is no way to build a connection to transfer the files.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-04, 08:28 PM Thread Starter   #3
IrQ
I NEED TO CONTACT LUTAWICASA OR SILVERSINKSAM



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by XWRed1
If you are behind nat, you won't be able to get a file off Kazaa from someone else behind nat; there's no way for them to connect to you to upload files.

If you are behind nat, it is impossible for anyone to connect to you without port forwarding. If they are behind nat, you can't connect to them... so there is no way to build a connection to transfer the files.
I cant connect to anyone at all. The search function wont even show.
IrQ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-04, 08:39 PM   #4
ComPuterFreak90
Disabled



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
look


Dont use Kazaa! I'm telling u. You will regret it.
ComPuterFreak90 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-04, 08:27 AM Thread Starter   #5
IrQ
I NEED TO CONTACT LUTAWICASA OR SILVERSINKSAM



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA

 
At the risk of getting this thread close I don't use Kazaa. I don't like Sharmen Networks and refuse to support them.

I usually use Kazaa Resurection if I use it.
IrQ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-04, 08:33 PM   #6
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrQ
I cant connect to anyone at all. The search function wont even show.
Well I don't know the details of how Kazaa works or everything it does because I've never used it.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-04, 12:46 AM   #7
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
You have to assign a specific port (or figure out which one it's using) in KaZaA or whatever it is you're using, then set your router/firewall to forward traffic on that port to the ip and port of the computer running the program. That's the only way I was ever able to get it to work.

I hate KaZaA too. Shareaza is much easier to configure.

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?