Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Celeron D...is D0 or C0 better?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-04, 10:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Celeron D...is D0 or C0 better?


I just bought a Celeron D 2.4ghz from a friend for $40. I thought it was a pretty good deal. The stepping is SL7JV. It appears to be a D0 chip. Is this better than the C0? I have been out of the intel loop for a while now. The AI7 for this cpu comes in the mail on monday

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-04, 10:17 PM   #2
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, the D0 is a newer stepping than the C0 and on average will O/C a tad better. Those Celeron D processors are usually good overclockers.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 01:19 AM Thread Starter   #3
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by batboy
Yes, the D0 is a newer stepping than the C0 and on average will O/C a tad better. Those Celeron D processors are usually good overclockers.
OK, so 4ghz on a stock heatsink is do-able then?

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 01:27 AM   #4
beau_zo_brehm
Member

 
beau_zo_brehm's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaZX6R
OK, so 4ghz on a stock heatsink is do-able then?

-Collin-
idk if you were jk, but that's pushin it. I would say 3.6 ghz max on air.
beau_zo_brehm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 01:28 AM   #5
elec999
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
You got a nice deal on the cpu, from where. This cpu should reach 4gig+, not sure if with stock cooling, or a bit better is required.
Thanks
elec999 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 01:46 AM Thread Starter   #6
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Yeah, I was sort of joking, but why not try?

I am going to buy a nice heatsink for it with my frys gift certificate....we'll see what she can do. I am tempted to sell it and get a 2.4a prescott, but we'll see how it does first. If I can do 4ghz on air...I'm going to keep it!

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 08:45 AM   #7
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
4 gig with the stock heatsink? No way! Since the highest socket 478 CPU is 3.4 gig, the stock cooler might be ok up to that speed if you can run default vcore and have decent case ventilation. Once you have to start bumping up vcore, the stock cooler becomes sort of worthless.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 12:36 PM Thread Starter   #8
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by batboy
4 gig with the stock heatsink? No way! Since the highest socket 478 CPU is 3.4 gig, the stock cooler might be ok up to that speed if you can run default vcore and have decent case ventilation. Once you have to start bumping up vcore, the stock cooler becomes sort of worthless.
I'll probably end up with an xp90 or a 948u. We'll see from there...

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 04:22 PM   #9
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Either of those heatsinks would be excellent choices.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 04:52 PM Thread Starter   #10
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Now, I just have to wait for fedex to bring the board. Monday

If I might ask your guys' opinions, do you think I'd be better off with a 2.4a prescott pentium 4? It is a little more expensive, but I can afford it. Since I have BH6 ram, I can't get much above 230mhz, so I think that an affordable northwood will need too high a fsb. This is the whole reason I'm looking at the 533mhz processors. This way, I am sure that ram won't be my limiting factor for a nice oc.

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 10:42 PM   #11
TheBadBoy
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
I got a Celeron-D 2.4Ghz D0 a month ago. I was able to overclock to 3.6Ghz stable with stock voltage and stock fan (though I used Arctic silver 5 compound instead of the thermal pad). The limit was around 3.7-3.8Ghz but at 3.6Ghz this gives exactly 200Mhz bus clock for a perfect 1:1 bus for DDR400 RAM. Also above 200Mhz bus clock 865 based motherboards turn off PAT, so 3.6Ghz is the ideal overclock for it. Good deal at $40 thats almost half price!
TheBadBoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-04, 11:11 PM Thread Starter   #12
NinjaZX6R
RAM Junkie

 
NinjaZX6R's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In slots 2 & 4!

 
Uh oh, I am going to feel stupid for asking this...... but what is PAT?

-Collin-

__________________
Gaming Rig: Core i7 920|Gigabyte GA-EX58-Extreme|OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum D9JNL (3x1gb)|Visiontek HD 4870|PC Power & Cooling 1kw-SR
Testing Rig: E1600 Celery|Asus Blitz Extreme|Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 D9GTR (2x1gb)|BFG OC 8800GTS|Antec Server 550 Watt


Me: Dude! I can't post anything because of the NDA on my CPU!!!
Glock: What NDA...you mean that piece of paper that got used as a napkin and thrown away?


My Heat
NinjaZX6R is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?