Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

WD Raptor?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-04, 10:03 AM Thread Starter   #1
obsolete
Member

 
obsolete's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN

 
WD Raptor?


So.....Why is it that people like WD Raptors? What is so great about them? haha j/k......

Couple weeks ago I was browsing about in windows & as I do quite frequently, I opened up my computer to check my WD Raptor's free space.......Well I noticed it now said 34.4 gigs instead of 36.7 gigs. I didn't do anything abnormal, like I said just browsing around windows & one day I lost 2.3 gigs?!?! Anyone have any input on that? I have rebuilt the partition, ran WD diagnostics disk, reformatted etc.... everything checked out fine. I can't figure out why all the sudden I have 34.4 gigs of free space where as before I had 36.7.........Thanks

__________________
][H][
]-[Hewlett Packard p7-1587c (refurbished even, lol)]-[AMD A8-5500 3.2ghz]-[Generic 8 GB mem]-[Asus Nvidia Geforce GT 630]-[Integrated IDT 92hd73e Beats Audio]-[1 TB 7200 RPM SATA HD]-[PS 300W]-[Samsung 26" LED TV]-[
-blt
obsolete is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 10:38 AM   #2
larva
Inactive Moderator

 
larva's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Could it be the recycling bin?

__________________
Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860
larva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 11:02 AM Thread Starter   #3
obsolete
Member

 
obsolete's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN

 
Thanks for the response. I always keep everything real clean on my HD's so three seconds after I delete something from a given HD, it gets removed from the recycling bin. It basically appears as though 2.3 gigs of usable space just disapeared for no apparent reason.

This really wouldn't be a huge deal if the drive was not so small. But I find myself watching how much of the drive is full all the time, because it doesn't take to many things to install to fill up the drive. After couple-3 games, burning software & such, your lookin at 15-18 gigs left.

Before this happend, I had just enough "stuff" installed for diskeeper to report my drive has a good amount of space available & after this happend, diskeeper reported that I should free up space because my drive is so full. Now how relevant/accurate diskeepers report is another story. That extra 2.3 gigs could allow for another game or something else. lol small drive......And you know that when your diving up what you can & can't install, makes me laugh.

__________________
][H][
]-[Hewlett Packard p7-1587c (refurbished even, lol)]-[AMD A8-5500 3.2ghz]-[Generic 8 GB mem]-[Asus Nvidia Geforce GT 630]-[Integrated IDT 92hd73e Beats Audio]-[1 TB 7200 RPM SATA HD]-[PS 300W]-[Samsung 26" LED TV]-[
-blt
obsolete is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 11:14 AM   #4
larva
Inactive Moderator

 
larva's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Aside from whether you have deleted anything or not, I believe the recycling bin reserves a portion of the disk's capacity for the recycling bin function. I'm not sure if this is your exact issue or not, but the OS is reserving that space for some reason and the recycling bin and swap files are the leading candidates.

__________________
Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860
larva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 11:17 AM   #5
dark_15
Drunken Master JNCIE Senior

 
dark_15's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Out on the road again...

 
And on XP (unless you disable it) there is always a significant reserve for System Restore (anywhere from 5-10 percent of your drive).

__________________
JNCIE-SEC #69, JNCIP-ENT, JNCSP-SEC, JNCIS-SA, JNCIS-AC, JNCIA-IDP, JNCIA-WX, ACMP, RCSP-WAN

HEAT Register Personal Blog
dark_15 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 11:20 AM   #6
larva
Inactive Moderator

 
larva's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Good point, I forgot the system restore (which I tend to disable).

__________________
Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860
larva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 11:56 AM   #7
Airbornederekc
Member

 
Airbornederekc's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: massachusetts

 
try running a defrag and then wipe your free space. one time i had a drive that had zilch for free space wheich i knew to have atleast 20 gigs free. ran a defrag and it all came back. sometimes weird things happen with windows

__________________
Intel Core I7 X980 6 Core CPU @ 4.27Ghz
Corsair H50 CPU cooler with Intel server 120mm fan
Intel DX58SO Smack Over motherboard
6GB OCZ DDR-III 1600Mhz (3x2GB) (OCZ3P1600LV6GK)
1x Intel X25-M 80GB SATA SSD Drive
2x Gigabyle Radeon HD 5870 1GB XFire (Vantage 31857)
Enermax Galaxy Evo 1250w PSU
Thermaltake Armor Chassis
LG Blu-Ray + Sony DVD-RW
Airbornederekc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 11:57 AM Thread Starter   #8
obsolete
Member

 
obsolete's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN

 
I get what your saying now Larva. I don't believe thats the issue here although it is something I'll check out. Not really sure how or why the recycling bin would one day decide to take space away. Plus I reformatted & it's the same.......

I always keep system restore disabled, one of the first things I do when I reinstall.

I'm not saying my drive has space that is getting ate up. I'm saying it no longer has the availabe capacity it once did (dropped 2.3 gigs). It doesn't register at 36.7 anymore, anywhere. I'll post some more info when I get home.

**EDIT** just seen another reply, I defrag my HD anywhere from once to twice a day (obsessive) depending on how many files I have moved around. Thanks for the replies!

__________________
][H][
]-[Hewlett Packard p7-1587c (refurbished even, lol)]-[AMD A8-5500 3.2ghz]-[Generic 8 GB mem]-[Asus Nvidia Geforce GT 630]-[Integrated IDT 92hd73e Beats Audio]-[1 TB 7200 RPM SATA HD]-[PS 300W]-[Samsung 26" LED TV]-[
-blt
obsolete is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 12:00 PM   #9
Airbornederekc
Member

 
Airbornederekc's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: massachusetts

 
u have a 36.7 gig raptor and its not registering as 36.7? are u positive that it did in the first place because the way windows formats drives they never report as advertised capacity. i got a 74 gig raptor thats 69.2 gigs. its not that ur loosing space. but im pretty sure might be mistaken on how much u actually had to start

__________________
Intel Core I7 X980 6 Core CPU @ 4.27Ghz
Corsair H50 CPU cooler with Intel server 120mm fan
Intel DX58SO Smack Over motherboard
6GB OCZ DDR-III 1600Mhz (3x2GB) (OCZ3P1600LV6GK)
1x Intel X25-M 80GB SATA SSD Drive
2x Gigabyle Radeon HD 5870 1GB XFire (Vantage 31857)
Enermax Galaxy Evo 1250w PSU
Thermaltake Armor Chassis
LG Blu-Ray + Sony DVD-RW
Airbornederekc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 12:11 PM Thread Starter   #10
obsolete
Member

 
obsolete's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN

 
I'm so absolutely sure it registered 36.7 before. The reason I'm so absolutely sure is I defrag my HD once or twice a day like I said. One day after playing a game, I decided to defrag the HD. I always read the report it says in diskeeper & all the sudden I only had somewhere in the neighborhood of 8 gigs left. Since I check so often, I know I had 11 gigs the day before. And further more on that one, diskeeper gave me a message that my HD space is low & that I should remove files from my HD to improve performance.

I thought maybe I had left a movie I encoded on the C drive instead of moving it to my 111 gig drive. But after looking into it further, I discovered a 34.4 gig drive instead of 36.7. I actually didn't know what the deal was at first, just knew I had less space then the day before.

And I do know that when you partition a drive you lose some space. I have a WD 120 giger that only allows 111 gigs of space to use......

I guess I should have said that in the first place instead of, "I was just browsing around, " was kind of hoping someone had run into this since there are some many WD-R 36.7 users.

__________________
][H][
]-[Hewlett Packard p7-1587c (refurbished even, lol)]-[AMD A8-5500 3.2ghz]-[Generic 8 GB mem]-[Asus Nvidia Geforce GT 630]-[Integrated IDT 92hd73e Beats Audio]-[1 TB 7200 RPM SATA HD]-[PS 300W]-[Samsung 26" LED TV]-[
-blt
obsolete is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 12:31 PM   #11
theELVISCERATOR

 
theELVISCERATOR's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michiana

 
formatted drives never give the raw space mfrs quote.

__________________
Intel 2600k @4.5ghz Megahalem/Corsair SP120 Pull
Gskill Sniper 8gb DDR3-2133cas8 @ 1866
MSI P67A-GD65 BIOS 2.4
Galaxy Winforce GTX670 @1215/3404 SLI
Xfi Fatality Pro Sound
Boot /Adata SX900 256gb SSD
Storage/ 2x 640GB WDAAK Raid 0
Antec 1200/Corsair 750 TX PSU / Win7 Pro 64bit
Yamakasi 30" IPS 2560x1600


theELVISCERATOR is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 12:42 PM   #12
larva
Inactive Moderator

 
larva's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by obsolete
I'm so absolutely sure it registered 36.7 before. The reason I'm so absolutely sure is I defrag my HD once or twice a day like I said. One day after playing a game, I decided to defrag the HD. I always read the report it says in diskeeper & all the sudden I only had somewhere in the neighborhood of 8 gigs left. Since I check so often, I know I had 11 gigs the day before. And further more on that one, diskeeper gave me a message that my HD space is low & that I should remove files from my HD to improve performance.

I thought maybe I had left a movie I encoded on the C drive instead of moving it to my 111 gig drive. But after looking into it further, I discovered a 34.4 gig drive instead of 36.7. I actually didn't know what the deal was at first, just knew I had less space then the day before.

And I do know that when you partition a drive you lose some space. I have a WD 120 giger that only allows 111 gigs of space to use......

I guess I should have said that in the first place instead of, "I was just browsing around, " was kind of hoping someone had run into this since there are some many WD-R 36.7 users.
There are, but that 36.7GB is 36.7GB in exactly the same fashion that your 120GB drive holds 120GB. In device manager your 120 shows 111, and your 36.7 shows less than 36.7.

The difference is that the drive manufacturers define a GB as 1,000 MB. The OS is going on (to my mind the correct) base 2 definition of GB, where 1GB=~1074MB. Your drive is 36.7GB in base 10, but that is not "true" GB.

I don't know where you witnessed the 36.7 before, but wherever it was, it was by the same measure that WD uses to proclaim your drive a 36.7GB device, not the measure by which the OS views storage.

__________________
Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860
larva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-04, 12:49 PM   #13
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Well, looks like I got to the party late, but missing disk space is also often due to hibernation... It creates a file much like pagefile.sys, but named hiberfil.sys when hibernation is enabled. This is space which you can recover by disabling hibernation.

Figured I'd mention this since page file, recycle bin, and system restore were all mentioned - hibernation was overlooked.

As for defragging, you should let diskeeper set it and forget it be obsessive for you - I hardly ever find my drive fragmented with this set.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?