• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Underclocked...need some help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gamblor

Registered
Hi. I am fairly new at building systems, but I am having a blast doing it so far. I am completely inexperienced at overclocking, but I am not ready for that yet anyway. I have built a couple systems for my girlfriend, one for my brother, and one for myself. My only problem so far is with my most recent system for my girlfriend. I used an ECS K7VTA3 motherboard and an AMD Sempron 2400+ chip. I have received good peformance so far from the setup and am impressed with the Sempron (this was the first time I used one). However I had a difficult time setting the FSB properly, and the CPU is running very slow. Performance hasn't been very bad but it seems to me it should be even better. The BIOS says the CPU is only running at 1000MHz, but it should be 1667MHz. I then realized the FSB was only set at 100MHz. When I attempted to set the FSB to 166MHz the system did not function. I also tried to set it at 133MHz and it still didn't work. The only FSB setting I can get the system to work at is 100MHz, and the processor speed is drastically slower than it should be. Can anyone help me? Thanks!!

After doing some research I began to wonder that myself. No, I didn't adjust the voltage at all. It never occured to me that I might need to. It's probably initially set around 1.5 volts right? What should I set it to?