Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Problem with a Fortron 530wt...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-05, 04:36 AM Thread Starter   #1
WannaBNerd
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Problem with a Fortron 530wt...


I bought a fortron 530w and it worked fine...after sleeving and sitting for aa few weeks before i got the rest of the parts for my computer...it will no longer power up...the psu fans wouldnt turn on or nething~~ne suggestions on what could b wrong ~_~
WannaBNerd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-01-05, 08:20 AM   #2
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
I would first double check all the connectors starting with the ATX connector itself to be sure they went back together in the correct way after the sleeving.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
Asus 270X 2GB, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-01-05, 08:23 AM   #3
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
Yep, when I sleeved my Fortron just a little while ago I had to double check everything because on some the red and yellow wires were backwards. Also, make sure the wires are pushed all the way in to the molex connector. They have to click back into place.
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-01-05, 11:36 PM Thread Starter   #4
WannaBNerd
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, IL

 
they r i chewched them...its not the connectors~~not even the psu's fan will power up when pluged in
WannaBNerd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-05, 08:07 AM   #5
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
Just to ask. Is the switch on the back flipped to on? I do that sometimes too.
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-05, 01:24 PM   #6
Fangs404
Member

 
Fangs404's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Iowa City, IA

 
also, make sure it's set to 115V instead of 230V on the back of the unit.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 E0 with Xigmatek HDT-S1283
4GB (2x2GB) G.SKILL DDR2-1000
EVGA GTX285
Corsair HX620W
500GB 7200rpm Samsung SATAII hard drive
1TB 7200rpm Western Digital Caviar Black SATAII hard drive
HP N40L NAS with 8GB Kingston ECC DDR3-1333 and 4x2TB Hitachi 7K3000 RAID-Z1 with FreeNAS
Fangs404 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-05, 02:06 PM   #7
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Have you adjusted any of the pots inside? If these are far enough out of adjustment, the overvolt protection (which is also controlled by one of the pots) will keep the PSU from powering up.

If nothing else, short the green wire on the ATX connector to ground and see if it fires up that way.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
Asus 270X 2GB, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-05, 07:39 PM Thread Starter   #8
WannaBNerd
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, IL

 
i did do that green to black and yet im still gettin no power out of it
WannaBNerd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-05, 07:42 PM   #9
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Not good... under normal circumstances I would say RMA it, but with the sleeving the warranty may have been voided. Best suggestion I can make is to check with your vendor and see if they'll let you RMA it. Otherwise, you may just have to replace it

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
Asus 270X 2GB, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?