• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ok time to see what this Celeron D can do

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pepto.Bismol

Registered
OK i just built a very cheap system to upgrade my 3 yr old gateway 1.6 p4. Heres the info.

2.53 Celeron D prescott EO, Chaintech V915p mobo lga775 1gig (512 X2) Mushkin Pc 3200 ram, eVGA Nvidia Geforce 6200 128mb Pci-X , Aspire Turbo case with 2 80mm intake at 4000rpm, 1 Vantec stealth 120mm fan for exhaust and 1 80 mm on the case door.

Im new to OCing but understand alot of the basics. My bios allows alot of stuff to mess with. Just wanting a good idea where to start out. I'm hoping to reach around 3ghz :attn: if at all possible. If you need anymore info to help me out just ask ,and any help will be appreiciated :D

Prescott cores tend to run hot. A general rule of thumb is raise FSB in your BIOS 1-2 at a time until the machine fails to POST. THen raise the voltage until it does!. COntinue doing this until your temps get too high or you fail Prime 95 (which can be found here http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm) which tests for CPU stability.

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

Last edited:
if that's J-cpu (e0) then it should oc like mad :)
but take it slow.
my first step would be cranking fsb to 200 to get 3.8ghz :D
ram to 1:1 and if there is "nb strap" option in bios, put it to fsb800.

but if 3.8ghz fails for some odd reason, start with baby steps.
nb strap to fsb800 and ram to 1:1 to avoid any ram bottlenecks.
start with like fsb 160, that equals ~3ghz speed.
use whatever you like to determine stability.. prime or 3dmark or superpi..
if fsb selected is stable, add 10mhz and continue.
if not, then add just one notch of cpu voltage. and start to increase fsb by 5mhz from now on.
if you have inbox or similar hsf, over 1.5 volts isnt very good idea..