Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

A8V lockup problems and solution!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-05, 10:53 AM Thread Starter   #1
boomslang
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
A8V lockup problems and solution!


Here's my basic setup:

AMD 64 3500 0.90
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0, 1008 Bios
ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128
SB Audigy 2 ZS
WD 74 Raptor
1 Gig Crucial DDR 400
Win XP Home w/ SP2
**Asus Wi-Fi Card, NO MORE**

I was having a lot of lockup problems when I initially assembled my system. Random lockups occured at random times, at idle with no programs running, using IE, using Outlook, etc. No bluescreens, just hard lockups. I never got a chance to try it with any games because the lockups were to frequent.

The lockups happened about every 5-15 minutes. The only solution was to reset my PC. The lockups happened before AND after installing SP2.

I tried many things over the course of the 3 days as I tried to iron out the problems. Reinstalling Win XP several times, switching the Audigy and Asus Wi-Fi card around to different PCI slots, running one stick of RAM in single channel, upping the AGP voltage to 1.6V (caused lots of problems), etc.

There were no IRQ conflicts. I was about to RMA the MB. Then I removed the Wi-Fi card. Holy smokes, it fixed the problem! I've had the Wi-Fi card out for a couple weeks now and haven't had a single problem. The system is rock solid in all my games now, HL2, FarCry, etc.

Short story: The Asus Wi-Fi card that came with my mobo was causing ALL of my lockup problems. Be advised.
boomslang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-05-05, 11:46 AM   #2
gashman
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
lol good one!

My a8v didn't come with a wifi card, but it's just as well it didnt as my next door neighbour has some kind of wifi device powerful enough to transmit a signal to mars (and it seems to smother the entire channel range) making wifi impossible in my house - good old rj45 under the carpet does the trick!
gashman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-05, 01:44 PM   #3
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Thanks for bringing this up. Problem noted and added to the OC Guide.
sSo ASUS WiF cards are extremely sensitive to EMI. What about other WiFi cards?
I'd like to see if this is a problem with the card or with the MoBo itself?

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-05, 10:53 AM   #4
Juups
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Boomslang, do you have agp 8x or 4x? I had exact the same problems with same parts. I tried agp 4x instead of 8 and now it works WITH Wlan card. I have to try if it works 8x without the wlan.
Juups is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-05, 01:01 PM   #5
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Juups:

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

Turn off fastwrites and see if you can safely revert back to AGP8X?

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-05, 02:08 AM   #6
Juups
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
I've tried turning off fastwrites, no use. I've noticed that this Asus A8V and Radeon 9800 Pro with 8X agp is a common problem...
Juups is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-05, 07:23 AM   #7
Krizze80
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Anyone problems with 1GB Geil 3500 433DDR?
I have lock-up problems...
- 1.6 volts reboot when get windows
- 1.7 volts corrupted errors
- 1.8 volts works but still lock-up...

AMD 3500+ 11x200 2-3-3-7@200MHz
Asus A8V Deluxe
Ti4600 128MB
Wifi card is removed...

Krizze80 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-05, 08:23 AM   #8
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krizze80
Anyone problems with 1GB Geil 3500 433DDR?
I have lock-up problems...
- 1.6 volts reboot when get windows
- 1.7 volts corrupted errors
- 1.8 volts works but still lock-up...

AMD 3500+ 11x200 2-3-3-7@200MHz
Asus A8V Deluxe
Ti4600 128MB
Wifi card is removed...

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS Krizzie80

Tested my Geil yesterday(512 Mb). Runs without a hiccup @ 220 MHz, 2.8V 2.5-3-3-6-1T. Both Memtest and Prime stable > 11 hours. Could you give me more information?

Juups:
Try setting the AGP Voltage to 1.6V.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-05, 10:38 AM   #9
Juups
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Setting AGP voltage to 1.6V won't help.
Juups is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-05, 12:35 PM   #10
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Did you read this? I added it to my guide recently.
http://www.europa-universalis.com/fo...d.php?t=147489

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 10:46 AM   #11
Krizze80
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
My problem was that AGP voltage: 1.5 -> 1.6v "no lock-ups anymore"
Geil's running just fine
Krizze80 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-13-06, 02:51 PM   #12
Vide Infra KsE
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2006

 
I've been having a similar problem recently with my computer getting hung up on a black screen whenever I viewed websites. I could only look at them for about a minute and the black screen took over. My dell monitor said the computer was in power save mode which didn't make sense to me so I plugged in an old CRT and it did the same thing. I haven't tried unplugging my wireless card yet but I'll have to give that a shot and see if that helps. Here's what I've got in my system:
Thermaltake TR2 W0070 ATX 430W Power Supply
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB (and a 40 gb SATA hdd and 20 gig IDE hdd)
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 2000MHz HT 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM
ASUS A8V Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard
ATi 9800 Pro AIW 128mb
Linksys Wireless B Wireless card (not sure of the model)

If anyone has any other idea as to why I might be having this issue or any input it'd be greatly appreciated.
Vide Infra KsE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-06, 08:19 AM   #13
kalimeeri
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: U.S.

 
My daughter has a similar system, Vide, and the same problems. The only real differences are a Geforce video card and a D-Link wireless (and an Audigy2 ZS). Have calmed the demons somewhat by conservative video card settings (AGP4x, No fastwrites, etc.) with one exception: file transfer via AIM. For some reason AIM file transfers will hang the system every time. Changing the PCI devices around only made it worse. Still working on the problem; I don't know if I should try a newer/different wireless card, or just an earlier version of AIM.
kalimeeri is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-06, 11:11 AM   #14
kalimeeri
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: U.S.

 
As of today, I have re-enabled all but 3 video bios settings (Fast-write off, 1.6 volts, and locking in 66.66/33.33). Still stable so far at 8x; I think the break-point will be Fast-write, but we'll see. So while the freezes have stopped, we still get occasional split-second flickers to black on her Dell monitor (but down to one or two per day).

I am wondering if the black screen flickers might not be a video problem so much as PC Probe reporting the 12-volt quite low (11.24). I don't believe this is a power supply problem--the bios reports it at 11.87 to 11.90, and several folks on the official Asus forum have the exact same thing going on, once Windows loads. Replacing the power supply doesn't seem to help.

The black-outs usually happen when the machine is mostly at idle. Maybe a silly question, but could Cool and Quiet be messing with that voltage too, and could that be causing a brief interruption in video signal?
kalimeeri is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 01:47 AM   #15
Sub_Zero
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Earth

 
Has anyone figured out these problems???

I am or was it has not happened in a few hours but my system kept restarting.. Games would freeze, Graphics would disappear (e.g. the sky)

Asus A8V Deluxe 11x200
OCZ PC 3700 3-3-7
Radion 9800 pro

Last edited by Sub_Zero; 09-25-06 at 01:49 AM. Reason: Reply Notice
Sub_Zero is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?