Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Order to install new card

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-05, 08:12 PM Thread Starter   #1
dkdgbroyles
Member

 
dkdgbroyles's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas

 
Order to install new card


I'm going to install a new sound card. What order should I do this? I'm thinking this order: 1. uninstall mobo drivers, video card driver 2. disable onboard audio 3. Put in new card 4. install audio driver 5. install mobo driver. 6. install video card driver.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4
Windsor 3.0GHz @ all stock
G.Skill DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 2048mb x 2
RAID 0: 2 Seagates 7200.10
8800 GT Superclocked edition
windows vista 64 bit
Cosair 550VX
Antec 900
dkdgbroyles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-07-05, 09:22 PM   #2
Balrog
Member

 
Balrog's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts, U.S.A.

 
Delete old audio drivers
Install new card
Install new drivers
Make sure Windows lists the new device
Tell it it is the preferred audio device & to only use it
No need to un-install MoBo drivers
I've done it this way a number of times with no issues.

Regards, Balrog
Balrog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-05, 07:15 AM Thread Starter   #3
dkdgbroyles
Member

 
dkdgbroyles's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas

 
I don't see the audio drivers in the control panel. I'm looking in the wrong place? I thought I needed to uninstall the mobo drivers at first because I thought the audio drivers were all integrated. Were do I find the audio drivers? Thanks.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4
Windsor 3.0GHz @ all stock
G.Skill DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 2048mb x 2
RAID 0: 2 Seagates 7200.10
8800 GT Superclocked edition
windows vista 64 bit
Cosair 550VX
Antec 900
dkdgbroyles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-05, 07:59 AM   #4
Balrog
Member

 
Balrog's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts, U.S.A.

 
If you're switching from an onboard audio solution to a card you can just install the new drivers as long as you tell Windows to only use the new device. I've done this with both ALC650 & MCP-T\Soundstorm onboard & switched to SBL & AV-710 cards without problems.

Regards, Balrog
Balrog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-05, 01:15 PM Thread Starter   #5
dkdgbroyles
Member

 
dkdgbroyles's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas

 
Well, I was about to put in a new sound card. Then I noticed my son has a Philips FW-C777 with a USB link on it. I hooked it up with no problem. This thing will put about any stereo system to the test. It has built in suround features on it and many others. I think I'll keep it for a while.It sure beats on board with the logitech speakers I use to have.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4
Windsor 3.0GHz @ all stock
G.Skill DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 2048mb x 2
RAID 0: 2 Seagates 7200.10
8800 GT Superclocked edition
windows vista 64 bit
Cosair 550VX
Antec 900
dkdgbroyles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-05, 01:37 PM   #6
Balrog
Member

 
Balrog's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts, U.S.A.

 
If you decide on buying a cheap card for HTPC, DVD & Music but not gaming try one of these -they're frigging amazing - I've had mine in my media PC for over a year -cheap too.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...120-103&depa=0

It doesn't like games with EAX audio but other than that its great.

Regards, Balrog
Balrog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-05, 04:49 PM   #7
m2450
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Disabel Onboard Audio


I have a SB Audigy and what I have always done if I am not using the integrated sound is to disable it in the BIOS settings.
m2450 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-05, 05:40 PM   #8
Balrog
Member

 
Balrog's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts, U.S.A.

 
Hey M2450!

Welcome to the Forums!

Yeah, always a good idea to disable any feature you aren't using, I have all my serial ports & parallel port disabled as well as onboard audio.

Regards, Balrog
Balrog is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?