Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

New motherboard with 4 SATA ports, or SATA card?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-05, 01:01 AM Thread Starter   #1
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
New motherboard with 4 SATA ports, or SATA card?


Trust me, it isn't as crazy as it sounds. My 200GB hard drive is filling up, and I need more room, it's a SATA, and so is my Raptor, so that's both my SATA channels.

I REFUSE TO BUY ANOTHER IDE DEVICE. So that really leaves me with the obvious choice of getting a SATA card, I would like it to have 4 channels, and I'm pretty sure it will come to that, but I suppose two would suffice.

Now, I'm not the avid performance fiend that some of you all are. I enjoy my 2500+, 1GB of ram, 9700pro, and RAPTOR, and always like more performance, but a 5% increase in speed in one aspect is not something that I desperately need, nor is it something I am willing to spend large sums of money on.

Now I was looking at SATA cards at zzf.

A lot of them were from companies I have never heard of before. Kingwin? LSI? Highpoint? I know Promise, but that's about it.

The cards range from $30, to $330. The high end ones seem very fancy though. I wouldn't need anything more than the SATA ports and possibly a RAID1 option.


Now I am an extreme minimalist, and I hate adding extra stuff in to my computer unless absolutely necessary. This includes hardware, especially expansion cards.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=130455

Now I see this card, it's $75,

Then I see this motherboard, and it's only $40 more.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=246458

I don't need a new motherboard, but this supports RAID 1, and the card didn't.

I'm really just lost and confused, suggest stuff to me please.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-05, 01:26 AM   #2
Rumrunner
Member

 
Rumrunner's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dover DE.

 
Oh how marketing gets us eh. If you are going to use RAID 1, I would get the mobo. But it sounds like space is an issue here, so maybe RAID 1 is inefficient for you? Promise is a good controller too.

You can try to sell your mobo for $40 to make up the cost difference.

__________________
INTEL 3930K @ 4.6 oc H100 cooler
Asus Rampage Extreme IV
3x EVGA superclocked 780's
3X Benq 2420T LED 5760x1080
Soundblaster X-FI Titanium Pro
16gb Corsair Vengance @ 2400
Seasonic X-1250W
240 GB Corsair Force GT synchronous SSD
640 WD Caviar black
Rumrunner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-05, 02:12 AM   #3
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
I would get the SATA card, I have one in my system and it's been running my Raptor for awhile now with zero problems. You should be able to get one for less than $30, though I can't remember exactly how much I paid for mine. It's a pretty simple device and I wouldn't say it's worth the hassle of a motherboard upgrade.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-05, 10:26 PM   #4
aeiou
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, WI

 
If he has filled up a 200GB drive, I would guess that those are probably pretty important files (Pictures? Videos? Music?), thus the reliability of raid1 could be usefull to him.

__________________
20" iMac 2.4Ghz C2D 4GB ram
aeiou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-05, 12:08 AM Thread Starter   #5
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
It's not super-duper important, because I really don't worry about hard drive failure, and it gets expensive, but it's a nice feature. I guess that's up to ME to decide.

I think I did one of those crappy time-waster threads. I'm sorry everyone.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?