• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

raid jumpers

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

syberspy9

hey guys sorry this is dumb but um...
i have 2 80gb seagate hd's (ya there the same modle and all)
um what do i set the jumpers to??

master and slave??
or cable select??
this is IDE on my Asus p4C800-E

what all do i have to do to setup raid0?
i have my ide cable plugger into my 2 hd's and the ide cableis plugged into the onboard raid controller its the blue one at the bottemat the mobo...
sorry im new to raid and the sticky didnt help

If you can get on AIM, since you need help urgently, that would likely be easiest. Otherwise I will try to help you here.

In order for RAID to be worthwhile, you have to use two seperate channels, meaning each hard drive is connected with a seperate cable, both configured as master.

um i dont have aim....
do u have msn?
um with the mobo can use a hd on the promis controller and the other hd on the normal HD ide connector and set them both to master?

*Edit* im getting Aim seeing as every one on OC forums has it.

Last edited:
Then download the version I linked you to. I know for a fact your manual has explanations for RAID0 and RAID1.

If you are looking at the quick setup version, instead of the full version it might not cover RAID levels... The download I linked you to will cover it for certain.

mk i did it sais set the jumpers to master/slave.............wtf??
whatdo they mean one master one slave?? or they can be both slave or both master?

edit it also is saying that u use 2 ide drives for the promis controller With one sata drive.... welli dont have the one sata drive...
ugh i thouhgt his would be some were nothing on google i can find.

Last edited:
I'm afraid I can't be much help, but I'll try... The manual (like you said) is downright confusing!