• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Too cold?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tu13erhead

Registered
I build a WC kit using an older water bubbler (drinking fountain for you non New Englanders). I ran it overnight last night, and noticed that the block is fogging up because the water is so cold.

What to do?

insulation might be a good idea? I'm not experienced in the field, but I think that is what some of the extreme cooling guys do...

yeah, but if the block is contacting your cpu, it cant fog up. the fog only happens when the object is colder than the dew point and contacts the air. so you will have to insulate your tubing, and around th block so that none of it contacts the air. you would get more help with that in extreme cooling

yeah I'd think that's more in tune with what the extreme cooling guys do...
maybe some of that thermal grease thing they use for phase change around the socket??

Tu13erhead said:
I build a WC kit using an older water bubbler (drinking fountain for you non New Englanders). I ran it overnight last night, and noticed that the block is fogging up because the water is so cold.

What to do?
So THAT is what that means! I kept hearing that term and wondered what the hell that was, but I didn't want to ask hehe.

I would recommend you insulate the tube heading towards the block, and maybe the one leaving. Any other tubes that seem cloudy should be covered too. Don't forget your block, insulate it well too, especially if you expect more humidity in the future.

You might want to insulate around the socket as well as the lines and block. Kinda take the same steps used in pelt cooling. People here in Wisconsin call them bubblers as well.