• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help...kind of new to oc'ing cpus

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

elitebear4

im running on the rig below and just a minute ago, i simply pushed my FSB from 204 to around 220, just to experiment. this was around 2000mhz and was stable. even without upping my ram speed to equal levels of my cpus FSB, it was still stable? i thought i read that there would be instability problems if fsb and ram speeds werent equal. can someone explain this?

as i said, im very new to this, so apologies

Last edited:
By default ram setting or manually set to max memclock = 200 MHz, the memory module bus frequency is running in 1:1 ratio with HTT (or FSB in bios).

So when HTT went from 204 to 220 MHz, memory bus frequency would follow.

You PQI 3200 has a good chance to be overclocked to much high, not uncommon to 250 - 280 MHz with timing of 2.5-4-4-8 1T at 2.x V.

Further, from you list of hardware, you have a good chance to achieve 2.5 - 2.7 GHz.

To get to 2500 MHz
HTT = 278 MHz
CPU_multiplier = 9
max memclock = 200 MHz (aka 1:1 ratio)
memory_bus_frequency = 2500 / 9 = 278 MHz
memory would be overclocked to 278 MHz using 2.5-4-4-8 1T 2.8 V

To get to 2700 MHz
HTT = 300 MHz
CPU_multiplier = 9
max memclock = 166 MHz (aka 5:6 ratio)
memory_bus_frequency = 2700 / 11 = 245 MHz
memory would be overclocked to 245 MHz using 2.5-4-4-8 1T 2.8 V

These are just two example operating points, you can explore something in between by adjusting HTT.

In the last two posts, I assumed your PQI PC3200 is the PQI Turbo PC3200 which is based on TCCD memory chips.

If not, please post otherwise, as non-TCCD based memory modules may not be able to run at such high bus frequency.