• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ordered new SLI rig!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mdogs444

Finally ordered my new rig so i can get rid of this CH w/ 1/2 L2 Cache disabled!

Asus AN8 nforce4 deluxe sli
athlon64 3500+
using existing 2x512 of Ballistix 3200 for now. May go plat rev 2 if need be.
OCZ 520w psu
74 gig wd raptor
2x asus 6600gt
xp-90

Does it look good? I hope it performs and OC's much better than my existing socket 754 setup did.

Looks not bad, hope you can get nice OC on it..maybe somewhat near 2.8ghz :)

using 2 6600 gt's what would that compare to in 1 video card?

2 6600 GT's are probably somewhere near 6800 ultra or x800 PE I'm not sure tho..I have no experience on SLI..but I do know you gain about 20% performance or somewhere near that

thegreek said:
A little better performace than a 6800 ultra

Don't know about all of you, but If I had to order a SLI motherboard, I would get 1 6800 (gt or ultra) and bought another one one year later when prices will drop. This would be about the same performance of 2X6600GT and less heat problem.

Just my opinion.

thegreek said:
A little better performace than a 6800 ultra

I thought 2 6600 GT's performed the same as a 6800 GT?

Also I would of gone with the 6800 GT from the start. I mean why spend all this money on SLI when you could of had the same performance for the same price with the 6800 GT and left room to upgrade down the road?

I just done believe in spending 400$ for 1 video card. Thats a rip off, i dont care what it does lol. For that price, it better do more than play games........im talking mow my lawn, go to work for me, and better yet....get me a beer every time mine is empty!

Ad Rock said: