• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Choosing Memory for DFI Lanparty UT nf3 250GB?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Halen5150

Registered
Hi, I'm new here, and I just bought a DFI Lanparty UT nf3 250gb and I'm having a hard time choosing ram for it. I want a gig of PC3200. Since socket 754 cannot run dual channel, is it better to buy 1 stick of 1024 or 2 x 512? I need something that runs quick at stock speeds, but also yields a good overclock. I'm new to overclocking, so I have no idea what latency or other timings I'm looking for. The most I want to spend is $200. Any suggestions? Has anyone had luck with PQI memory on this mobo? I was thinking of this
or this.
Any help is appreciated.

I'm sure you'd be happy w/ stock settings w/ both those choice from PQI.
However, I must HIGHLY RECOMMEND this from PQI . It's more $$, but well worth it for overclocking.
That ram has been well noted for its performance (thread here at OCforums )

That ram or any w/ Samung TCCD chips (listings ) would work great. Some people are swearing by G.Skill--I've not tried 'em. (helpful review)

I've better luck w/ my PQI w/ TCCD chips than the OCZ 3700 Gold Rev. 3 I was heavily tempted by:
As we completed testing of OCZ 4000 Gold Rev. 2, we were told by OCZ that yields were so good with the new Hynix memory chips, they had decided to use the same memory chips in their new 3700 Gold Rev. 3. This means that the current 3700 Gold Rev. 3 and the 4000 Gold Rev. 2 are the exact same DIMMs for the time being. This could always change in the future,

Also, I've found Anandtech's memory reviews to be helpful.

Helpful hint: the lower memory timings (like 2-2-2-5) means it's better Ram for overclocking.

But again, w/ my DFI Nf3 -- my PQI3200-1024DBU TOTALLY ROCKS!