Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

blocking port ***** need stealth

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-05, 02:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
blocking port ***** need stealth


I never had this problem before but now since i upgraded my routers firmware my port ****** is closed.....

all my ports are stealth and use to be stealth and they still are. EXCEPT ****...

can someone help me with this. i want it to be stealth.

im using zonealarm and linksys router.

i blanked out my port thats closed for security reasons. its not OPEN its CLOSED but not stealth. i want it be stealth like allmy other ports

help plz?"
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 02:05 PM   #2
silent bob
Team 32 Folding Ghetto Hanging PC Senior



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: in "The Cave "

10 Year Badge
 
go to grc.com

__________________
Heat

Early in life I had to choose between honest arrogance and hypocritical humility. I chose the former and have seen no reason to change.
Frank Lloyd Wright

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't
matter and those who matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss

Folding User Stats
silent bob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 02:09 PM Thread Starter   #3
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
lol thats how i found out my port was closed and not stealth

i need to know how to make it stealth
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 02:37 PM   #4
TalRW
Member

 
TalRW's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Irvine, CA

 
is it port 139 or something really close to that. It was the same for me, I read up on it. Whatcha wanna do is forward that port to nowhere, so basically forward the port that is closed to 192.168.1.255 (assuming that doesn't exist) then run the test again, it will be stealthed.

__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
MOBO: Asus K8N4-E Deluxe
HARD DRIVE:
MEMORY: 3.0GiB
POWER:
VIDEOCARD:
GNU/Linux Distribution: Trisquel 5.0 (Dagda)
Support software freedom! Try one of the nine FSF endorsed distros.
Got a wireless network? Secure it!
TalRW is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 02:40 PM Thread Starter   #5
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
can i just make up a ip like 001.00.0.0?
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 02:49 PM   #6
mysubaruimp
Member

 
mysubaruimp's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatrix
can i just make up a ip like 001.00.0.0?
Go try it.
mysubaruimp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 03:11 PM   #7
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatrix
can i just make up a ip like 001.00.0.0?
Best make it a 10.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x address incase it gets rerouted to an actual existing IP.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 03:11 PM Thread Starter   #8
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
nice it works

stealth baby

my only question is what happens if someone else is using that same ip?

they only let me change the last digit

i set it for 192.168.1.156 is that good
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 03:14 PM   #9
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatrix
nice it works

stealth baby

my only question is what happens if someone else is using that same ip?

they only let me change the last digit

i set it for 192.168.1.156 is that good
192.168.x.x or 10.x.x.x IPs are used for private networks - so those IPs arent real computers out on the internet.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 03:19 PM Thread Starter   #10
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
so basically there just for local for me?

since everyone with a router has 192.168.1.1?
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 03:26 PM   #11
Slackfumasta
Member

 
Slackfumasta's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: My own personal HELL!

 
rar, I achieved a TruStealth rating!

Yes, 192.xxx.xxx.xxx is a non-routed IP range, so it's quite common to see them in home networks.

It's not the only private range, but it's the most common.
Slackfumasta is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 04:13 PM   #12
UnseenMenace
UnseenModerator

 
UnseenMenace's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
being stealth is seriously over rated though, people focus on it far to much imho. In fact a Microsoft Windows XP Home (with NO service packs) and firewall defaults is stealth according to GRC.. Does anyone consider that to be secure ?? - Read Here For Report

Also I personally take what GRC states with caution, if you read respected security sites and forums the thoughts of the professional community does not appear to be a positive one.

This site makes for interesting reading http://www.grcsucks.com/

Make up your own mind

__________________
one M15x is never enough

Last edited by UnseenMenace; 01-16-05 at 04:32 PM.
UnseenMenace is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-05, 04:18 PM   #13
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah I prefer to run an OS not susceptible to the vast majority of malware and hacking attempts, and NAT at the router as well .

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-05, 10:08 AM   #14
matrixzen
Member

 
matrixzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA

 
I usually prefer not to run software firewalls like the one built into Windows XP. Most hacks happen on the trusted side. Trojans and other backdoors are what you should be really afraid of. I'm not going to say that I'm 100% secure because I'm not. I just do my best to take precaution in regards to the net.

__________________
Team 32 Contributor.
matrixzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-05, 11:24 AM   #15
ghettocomp
Master of teh Ghetto Mods

 
ghettocomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Choosing between two evils, I might pick the one I've never tried before.

 
For me-- two words: Smoothwall & ZoneAlarm.

__________________
I find that most people are like Slinkies.. They are not really good for anything, but can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. :P
ghettocomp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-05, 11:29 AM   #16
The VTech
Captain Bawls

 
The VTech's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Victoria's Secret

 
I use a Sonicwall TZ170 and don't worry about it either way.


So far the only thing I can see by having this unit in Stealth mode is I don't get hit by random scans as often as I have without using it. Not enough to make a difference though.
The VTech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-05, 11:30 AM   #17
matrixzen
Member

 
matrixzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA

 
Yea, smoothwall works great. The service that it comes with it is the intrusion detector Snort.

__________________
Team 32 Contributor.
matrixzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?