• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD XP 2000+ OC help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jeffjets00

Hey all I just started playing around with OCing since I was upgrading some parts in my PC and the cpu was the only part I havent upgraded yet. My current system is an AMD Athlon XP 2000+(thoroughbred, revision A0 in cpuz), A7V8X-X asus motherboard and PC2700 ram. So far from what I can tell the processor is unlocked since I am able to change the multiplier in the bios. I have been able to change the multiplier and fsb and have peaked out at about 1915mhz at 166/11.5x, the other setting I was trying for a bit was 1883mhz with 145/13.5x. I haven't messed around with changing the voltages or memory settings yet, so that is mostly why I am posting.

First question is of the 2 choices above which is actually better? I am thinking the higher FBS and speed is better but I wasn't really sure with the lower multiplier like that. I was thinking with the higher fbs my memory is actually running at its proper speed(333mhz) so that would really effect performance.

My other question has to deal with the voltage settings. When I try upping my fbs or multiplier from either of the 2 settings above windows won't boot. I tried going in and then just upping the vcore 1 setting and that doesn't help. Do I need to change the memory settings also or are they ok? Currently the memory frequency and voltages are all on auto in the bios.

I would try lowering the multi even lower say 11 or even 10.5 ands raise the fsb. now with anything heat is always an issue so lower the multi = lower the heat , fsb = free mhz .
Now with more fsb you would need to raise the voltage on your memory and chipset and possibly the agp slot , just start out slow , go in .1 incraments .