• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Plextor PX-716SA SATA DVDRW? Anyone tried it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Just got mine the other day. I haven't tried burning dvds yet, but cd-r discs work just fine. It's a lot more quiet than the Ricoh cd-r/dvd combo I've been using for the past two years or so. All the drives on my system are now sata.

i think it is , or was considerably overpriced - considering the only limitation to DVD burners going above 16x is the speed of the HD's.

would have been better off with a nec 3500.

Mr.Guvernment said:
i think it is , or was considerably overpriced - considering the only limitation to DVD burners going above 16x is the speed of the HD's.

would have been better off with a nec 3500.

does the NEC have a 8MB buffer and SATA? No

Some people would like the clean look of SATA and as far as I know Plextor is the only one providing a 8 MB buffer currently on Newegg.

I love mine. The performance is incredible. The only drawback is the price, but I mangaed to find an extremely good deal on mine, so I can't complain.

thegreek said:
does the NEC have a 8MB buffer and SATA? No

What is the advantage of 8MB buffer between these two drives? I mean, other than that its there... I have not seen where this comes into play.

SATA is definetly nice though, cleaner inside the case.

Overall anyways, I think in some people's opinion SATA and an 8MB buffer does not make it a better buy necessarily. Down the road who knows though... This plextor might be burning away 8 years from now and the NEC's might stop failing sooner. Plextors have a good history of reliability, and perhaps that is worth the higher cost to some.