Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Windows not detecting 2nd partition

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-05, 05:07 PM Thread Starter   #1
electrorcamd

 
electrorcamd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belton, MO

 
Windows not detecting 2nd partition


I have Windows Server 2003 EE evaluation edition installed on my computer. I have 2 hard drives, one for Linux and one for Windows; the Windows drive has two partitions. The first is NTFS, the second is FAT32. I was using Overclockix and tried to install it to my Linux drive and it didn't work. I then rebooted and did fdisk /mbr to wipe the bootloader from another os that wouldn't let Windows boot. Then when I rebooted in Windows, I couldn't get to the FAT32 partition on my Windows drive. I can mount it and browse through everything in Linux fine; the partition just won't show up in Windows.
How can I get this partition to show up?

__________________
Main: Athlon 2 X3 435, 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3, Asus M4A785TD-V evo mobo, HD4200 graphics, stock cooling, Seasonic S12II Bronze 520w psu
Laptop: HP Pavilion dv5000, Turion64 ML-37, 1GB RAM, Xpress 200M graphics, 80GB hdd, XP MCE 2005
Folding for T32
electrorcamd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-05, 06:57 PM   #2
Daddyjaxx
Member

 
Daddyjaxx's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Duluth, GA.

 
I think I read somewhere once that only 2003 Standard supports FAT32. I may be wrong.

__________________
i980 stock speeds for now in
Asus Rampage III Extreme on Win 7 Home Premium
3 X eVGA 480 GTX
3 x 2 GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 @ 1600
1000w and 850w Corsair in MM Ascension Horizon
Crucial 128GB Real SSD and 2 x 1 TB W/D Black
3x XSPC RX360 with Feser Shround and Panaflo Med
EK Supreme HF and EK Rampage III block
DD Satin 480 Blocks,
2 x DDC 18w XSPC Dual Res Dual DDC
Daddyjaxx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-05, 07:16 PM   #3
turd
Member

 
turd's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Run your recovery console and do a help, then look at fixboot or fixmbr
Heres a link about the RC
http://support.microsoft.com/default...n-us;Q307654#5
turd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-05, 09:01 PM Thread Starter   #4
electrorcamd

 
electrorcamd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belton, MO

 
It used to work fine with it. I will try the recovery console though.

__________________
Main: Athlon 2 X3 435, 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3, Asus M4A785TD-V evo mobo, HD4200 graphics, stock cooling, Seasonic S12II Bronze 520w psu
Laptop: HP Pavilion dv5000, Turion64 ML-37, 1GB RAM, Xpress 200M graphics, 80GB hdd, XP MCE 2005
Folding for T32
electrorcamd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-05, 09:14 PM Thread Starter   #5
electrorcamd

 
electrorcamd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belton, MO

 
I ran both fixmbr and fixboot; Windows still won't list the drive in My Computer.
Anything else I can try?

Edit: I think I found the problem, but I don't know if I can fix it without reformatting the FAT32 partition. When I go to the properties for the drive, then to the volumes tab, it shows both partitions. When I go to properties for the missing partition, it shows no type with a raw filesystem and a capacity of 0 bytes. Can I restore the filesystem somehow, since Linux detects it, or should I just reformat the second partition?

Thanks

__________________
Main: Athlon 2 X3 435, 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3, Asus M4A785TD-V evo mobo, HD4200 graphics, stock cooling, Seasonic S12II Bronze 520w psu
Laptop: HP Pavilion dv5000, Turion64 ML-37, 1GB RAM, Xpress 200M graphics, 80GB hdd, XP MCE 2005
Folding for T32

Last edited by electrorcamd; 01-23-05 at 09:19 PM.
electrorcamd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-25-05, 09:15 PM Thread Starter   #6
electrorcamd

 
electrorcamd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belton, MO

 
Any ideas or opinions as to what I should do?

__________________
Main: Athlon 2 X3 435, 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3, Asus M4A785TD-V evo mobo, HD4200 graphics, stock cooling, Seasonic S12II Bronze 520w psu
Laptop: HP Pavilion dv5000, Turion64 ML-37, 1GB RAM, Xpress 200M graphics, 80GB hdd, XP MCE 2005
Folding for T32
electrorcamd is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?