Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Is this windows problem?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-05, 10:19 AM Thread Starter   #1
way2ez4u
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004

 
Is this windows problem?


Is this a windows or mobo problem?
Have 9800 and won't boot properly on machine 1.
Boots and runs 3dmark without problems on machine 2.

Have 4200 and boots properly and runs 3dmark on machine 1.
I have aerocool 450watt power supply on machine 1.

have any ideas?
way2ez4u is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 07:45 PM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
List the complete system specs for both "machine 1" and "machine 2", including which OS is installed on both.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 08:55 PM   #3
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
define "won't boot properly". does it attempt to boot the OS? by saying boot, i'm assuming that it posts properly?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 10:31 PM Thread Starter   #4
way2ez4u
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004

 
OK.
Machine 1: P4c 3ghz, Soltek SL-86SPE-L bios=1.5, Audigy 2, ata 133 raid x 2 maxtor 80gig, 2 x kingmax ddr466 512mb @ DC, aerocool 450watt ps, Widows XP SP2. Latest windows certified drivers.
Machine 2: P4a 2ghz, Tyan S2095, SB LIve, ata 133 raid x 2 maxtor 20gig + 2 Wester Digital 15gig, 2 x corsair ddr266 256mb @ SC, enermax 350watt ps, Window XP SP2. Latest window certified drivers.

Boot = into normal windows, does boot into safe mode. posts properly.
thanks.
way2ez4u is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-05, 06:56 PM   #5
Saruji
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
hmm, well the difference between safe mode and normal windows I believe is that in safe mode it will run windows generic drivers (please correct if i'm wrong)

edit yea thats right found it in windows articles

So I would try and uninstall the drivers for ATI in safe mode, and then boot the machine, have windows load the generic drivers again and then do the install. However to unistall the ATI drivers properly, you'll need the ATI remove tool, or I guess you could try just using device manager.

Try that,

P.S. If I had to guess i'd say its windows, but then again even if you fix it windows is still broken jk.
Saruji is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?