Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Auto overclocking?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-05, 06:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
k0r34nguy
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Auto overclocking?


Should I auto overclock my eVGA 6800 GT? The option was found when I checked up on my card. My core GPU temp is at 52 and ambient temp goes from 34-35.

Should I do the command to auto overclock?
k0r34nguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 07:01 PM   #2
sandman001
Just Freeze It



Join Date: Mar 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Give it a try.
sandman001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 08:36 PM   #3
Mr_H
Member

 
Mr_H's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Burbs

 
I would never ever Auto Overclock ANYTHING!

__________________
ITX Gamer
Mr_H is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 08:54 PM   #4
Jarhead7236
Member

 
Jarhead7236's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: FPO AP

 
a lot of the time the auto oc will be some insane setting that's probably not too wise to set with stock cooling...do it the old fashioned way, work it up slowly...just my $0.2...
Jarhead7236 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 09:46 PM   #5
jtracc20
Member

 
jtracc20's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarhead7236
a lot of the time the auto oc will be some insane setting that's probably not too wise to set with stock cooling...do it the old fashioned way, work it up slowly...just my $0.2...
i agree
jtracc20 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 09:49 PM   #6
jtc_hunter
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
I agree. The autoOc usually will make the core too high. It will work, but after a few mins. of a good game, you will get artifacts or lockups. A real good way to OC is by 10%. For example: Stock 6600gt AGP, 500/900, go for 550/990 . Then inch it up a few mhz. at a time and keep an eye on temps. What I mean by a inch at a time is, try a setting for a whole day of computing/gaming, before you move it up. Just cause it runs at a certain speed doesnt mean it will for hours on end of Farcry or HL2.

__________________
Asus M4A88TD-V Evo/USB3, AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition @ 3.8ghz. , G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB , MSI Hawk GTX460 Twin Frozer, Crucial M4-128 SSD for C: drive and Barracuda 160 gig. for storage.
jtc_hunter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-05, 09:52 PM   #7
jtracc20
Member

 
jtracc20's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario

 
how about the preset feature, which finds the best setting for o/c. i used that. seems fine.
jtracc20 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?