Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

What do you guys think? (new system setup)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-05, 03:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
What do you guys think? (new system setup)


ok a friend of mine in college wants me to bulid a computer for her in the $400-$500 price range but i need the thing to be stable so its not all freaking out because shes very NOT computer literate how ever she wants to be able to add to it in the future....any way heres what i got:

http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishR.asp?ID=1091130

think it should be stable? thats what i am worried about mostly

only thing not on the list is the videocard which would be comming from a different store....she wants to play games but i know its going to be mostly black and white and/or age of mythology so i figures a FX 5500 128Meg (possibly 256meg) would be good enough for that and can always update it
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-05-05, 03:24 PM   #2
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
2 Things:

Dont get a 5500. If anything get a 9600PRO

Second scrap your cooling. Stock cooling is perfectally fine for any A64 system save the $30
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-05-05, 03:29 PM   #3
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I wouldn't use that power supply for anything more than a paper weight. There's just no way a company can build a decent 400w PSU and include it in a mid-tower case for $35.50. Remember it's only a good value if it's inexpensive but still reliable. Additionally the system will be seriously hamstrung with only 256Mb ram resulting in alot of page file usage. An extra $30 spent for a 1x512Mb dimm would be money well spent.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-05-05, 05:16 PM   #4
Radical
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CA

 
Is there any reason why you want that Samsung hard drive? Samsungs are quiet, but either of the two Western Digital drives below would be faster, and one of them is even SATA for about $10 more.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-122&depa=1
SATA -> http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...135-106&DEPA=1
Radical is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 10:56 AM Thread Starter   #5
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
i want the hard drive for the 3 year warranty and the price

like i said earlier i am not going for super speed i am going for price/future upgrade-ability...

it also came to the point where getting things like the samsung drive were to keep it in the price range

and as far as rosewill powersupplies go, i have one i bought, its much different (performance 500 or something like that, the aluminum one) and it works pretty well

Last edited by Niku-Sama; 02-06-05 at 11:05 AM.
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 11:14 AM   #6
ajrettke
Member

 
ajrettke's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dayton. OH

10 Year Badge
 
you gotta go for 512 RAM....drop to a sempron if you have to, you need 512.

__________________
i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
MSI Z77A-G41
R9 280X
2x4gb PC16000
256GB Samsung 840
Sennheiser HDR-120's
Dell U2713HM
"Computer games dont affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, wed all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989
ajrettke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 12:52 PM Thread Starter   #7
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
semprons cost more and suck ass why would i buy a sempron?

its come down to pinching pennies to keep it in the price range...lemme redo something i think i have an idea
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 03:19 PM   #8
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Easy he's just trying to help and he has a point. If you have to cut many more corners I'd give serious thought to building a system around an XP-M processor. Your s754 setup with 256mb ram will not perform as well as a properly equipped overclocked XP-M setup w/ 512mb ram. Additionally that power supply isn't likely to get beaten up as badly by an XP-M as it will a newcastle.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 03:39 PM   #9
mysubaruimp
Member

 
mysubaruimp's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004

 
Dell.
mysubaruimp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 03:47 PM   #10
pcgamer4life
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mysubaruimp
Dell.
is a rip-off.


There, I finished your sentence.

I think you went almost overboard for a computer-illiterate girl.

Processor, if you insist on AMD, get something lesser. 2800, imo, is too much power for someone that won't ever use 1/4th of it. An AMD Sempron 2400+ is only $62. Half the price, half the performance, but I honestly doubt she'll do anything more than web/email/chat. A 333mhz acer I threw away a few months ago can do all of that.

Motherboard, get a socket A mobo for the processor, save the girl some cash.

Ohh, sorry, I didn't read the original post, she wants to play games... that changes everything. I'd definitely go with more ram, then. 512 should be fine.
That's the only thing I'd change, the ram.

__________________
Corsair 500R
Corsair CX600
ASUS Z87-Plus
Intel 4670k
Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Samsung 840 Evo 120gb
Windows 8.1 Professional
500gb WD Green
1TB WD Green
8GB DDR3-1600
ASUS DirectCUII Top+ 270x 2GB
pcgamer4life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 04:39 PM Thread Starter   #11
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
she wants to be able...or acually she wants me to be able to "make it better" in the future...

thats why i put the 754 socket on it, i was really thinking pci express but the total cost is way to much although would be more upgradable

i'll make a few different options
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 04:43 PM   #12
ajrettke
Member

 
ajrettke's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dayton. OH

10 Year Badge
 
honestly, by the time she upgrades it won't be worthwhile to stick with 754. Your best bet is to get a nforce2 chipset with a socket A mobile and OC it with 512 RAM...upgrade to a 6800u later (or something better....AGP cards are gonna be made regardless of how many people think PCI-e is taking over).

Using a 2800+ and 256 RAM is like using a ferrari in the middle of winter in Alaska.

__________________
i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
MSI Z77A-G41
R9 280X
2x4gb PC16000
256GB Samsung 840
Sennheiser HDR-120's
Dell U2713HM
"Computer games dont affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, wed all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989
ajrettke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 04:58 PM   #13
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Agreed. For that budget you may well be further ahead going with an NF7-2 or DFI nForce2 ultra, 2x256 memory, and possibly a better vid card if budget allows. Despite all the rhetoric that gets out of hand at times a solid well thought out socket A setup can be quite fast and clearly an excellent value.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

Last edited by TimoneX; 02-06-05 at 05:22 PM.
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 05:16 PM   #14
pcgamer4life
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
By the time she's ready to upgrade, s754 will probably be as obsolete as socket A is now, so why not go cheaper now? If you plan on over clocking, you'll want a new psu, probably.

__________________
Corsair 500R
Corsair CX600
ASUS Z87-Plus
Intel 4670k
Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Samsung 840 Evo 120gb
Windows 8.1 Professional
500gb WD Green
1TB WD Green
8GB DDR3-1600
ASUS DirectCUII Top+ 270x 2GB
pcgamer4life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 05:53 PM Thread Starter   #15
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
heh i thought that would be an issue here....not for overclocking at all guys..none....needs to be stable as hell because i cant help people "tech support" wise because theyre dumb as hell when you tell them to click one thing they reset the computer to start over type of thing....i dont want to do that

edit:

ok i changed this one arround:
http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishR.asp?ID=1091130

going to make 2 more....the least expencive most expandable 939 settup and the fastest cheapest socket A...might be a while

Edit again:

PCI Express systemone 16xSlot due to cost other wise probally the most expandable system....missed the $500 mark by about $150 but any way
http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishR.asp?ID=1298056


starwars repubelick commando demo just finished wonloading so socket a will be....well it may never show up

Last edited by Niku-Sama; 02-06-05 at 06:14 PM.
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-06-05, 06:33 PM   #16
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
So you want fast and stable, but overclocking is out whether it's 1Mhz or 600Mhz, but you insist on using *that* PSU? In my experience power supplies of that caliber seldom provide any kind of stability for very long. Really I think you're thinking about this incorrectly. Overclocking and stability do not have to be polar opposites if it's in a well thought out system.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-07-05, 03:16 PM Thread Starter   #17
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
sheesh man she likes the case, we can use the power supply to see how it is but if it needs something else its no big deal, i'm gonna burn in and test the system with the powersupply in it, if it no good i can get one and then replace it.....its really just an added bonus to buying the case....and you never know it might be the best powersupply in the world!!! MWA HAHAHA more than likely not because enermax powersupplies are the best.....but any way
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-07-05, 03:39 PM   #18
massraptor
Member

 
massraptor's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC ,Kalifornia

 
Looks good but consider this


I looks like a nice setup but what about this Biostar Motherboard $70 and take the savings and putting it into 512mb Rosewill PC3200 .That should keep you around the design you have in you're wish list.

Remeber boys and girls fold You're life could depend on it

__________________
Heatware
I7 920 @ 3.3
ASUS R2E
6 Gig Corsair
GTX 580 Refrence
2x 74 gig 15k SCSI Raid 0
OCZ GOLD 850
FOLDING FOR TEAM 32
massraptor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-07-05, 07:31 PM Thread Starter   #19
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
the biostar only has 2 ddr slots...i'm kinda picky about having 3 or more...more room for more since its socket 754 i need not to worry about dual channle so over time i can just pack more and more into the sockets when she needs it
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-05, 01:19 PM   #20
massraptor
Member

 
massraptor's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC ,Kalifornia

 
I agree and disagree


Quote:
Originally Posted by Niku-Sama
the biostar only has 2 ddr slots...i'm kinda picky about having 3 or more...more room for more since its socket 754 i need not to worry about dual channle so over time i can just pack more and more into the sockets when she needs it
Yes it only has two slots but with one stick 512mb then later another stick 512mb you would be at a 1024mb.By the time that you need to more memory you will be at the same position you are in now.Besides it is for a non-computer girl who will not notice one slot or two.But she will notice the change from 256mb to 512mb anyday of the week.
Good luck on you'r decision.

Remeber boys and girls fold You're life could depend on it

MassRaptor

__________________
Heatware
I7 920 @ 3.3
ASUS R2E
6 Gig Corsair
GTX 580 Refrence
2x 74 gig 15k SCSI Raid 0
OCZ GOLD 850
FOLDING FOR TEAM 32
massraptor is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?