Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

How reliable is Portatech.com?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-05, 08:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
DamienKC
Member

 
DamienKC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
How reliable is Portatech.com?


I was looking around at 3400's on pricewatch and noticed portatech had the 2.2ghz 1mb clawhammer and thought it was too good to be true. Are they known for saying something is in stock when it's not or anything?

thanks
DamienKC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-05, 08:25 PM   #2
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-05, 09:23 PM Thread Starter   #3
DamienKC
Member

 
DamienKC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
I'm aware, i wanted to get an opinion from people here.
DamienKC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-05, 09:35 PM   #4
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
Well fine, be that way.....


jking m8
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-05, 10:55 PM   #5
AZNBoiOnFIYA
Member

 
AZNBoiOnFIYA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ

 
wouldnt go for it. pay the extra money from a more reputable retailer for assurance.
AZNBoiOnFIYA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-05, 12:45 AM Thread Starter   #6
DamienKC
Member

 
DamienKC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
Problem is i can't find 3400+ clawhammers anywhere that's reputable. There's DTR but i don't want to mod my prommy to use it.

EDIT : eWiz has them, but for $230!!!! That's $40 more than portatech. *sigh*, hopefully it's worth it.

edit 2: OK, so on pricewatch it says 1024 cache and 2.2ghz, i click it and ewiz says 2.2ghz but 512 cache. Did they even make a 2.2ghz 512 cache 3400+?
DamienKC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-05, 12:50 AM Thread Starter   #7
DamienKC
Member

 
DamienKC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
I think I may just give portatech a call and see if they can confirm clawhammer 3400+'s are instock and i'll try to just buy over the phone.
DamienKC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-05, 03:41 PM   #8
Strafer
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
Strafer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-05, 04:11 PM Thread Starter   #9
DamienKC
Member

 
DamienKC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
A little pricey for my taste. I just bought a 3000+ DTR though.
DamienKC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-05, 04:22 PM   #10
Keiron
Member

 
Keiron's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Durham, NH

 
The reviews on the site look awful. Relabeling CPU's and giving people $10 of credit for a DOA XP 3200+ is pretty bad. I would stay far away from them if I was you.

__________________
Heatware
Orpheus
Lian Li PC-7077A
3200+ Venice running at stock 2Ghz.
DFI UT Ultra-D
2x512 OCZ EL Plat Rev 2
MSI 6600GT
OCZ 520W Powerstream PSU
WD 80GB 7200RPM HD
CNPS7000B-Cu LED with AS Céramique
2x 17" 770TFT Samsung LCD Monitors
Keiron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-12, 12:04 PM   #11
Bauldrdash
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2012

 
their shipping sucks


They take 2 weeks to ship from LA to Seattle. I've read a lot of bad reviews now.
Bauldrdash is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-13, 02:04 AM   #12
jotaro_shima
New Member



Join Date: Aug 2013

 
I would go against it. I bought a motherboard/CPU combo from them for really cheap. A year later, it started blue-screening on me. And now (another year later) it still does it. I have no idea why and nobody else could help. I've built three PCs in my lifetime and never had a problem with any of them other than this one.
jotaro_shima is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-13, 12:06 AM   #13
nofear187
New Member

 
nofear187's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009

 
Don't waste your time with PortaTech they took 7 days to build a computer for me. Then another 5 or 6 days to ship it to me. Only to find out on opening the box it came in that fed ex completely destroyed the computer they sent to me ( it was totally DOA) as well as I was out $200 dollars profit since I was going to install this in a customer restaurant in downtown Richmond, VA. (Can't install a computer that's fed ex had destroyed) I e-mailed their RMA dept and requested to speak to a manager about this cluster screws buy they refused to call me back at all, so I was forced to call them and demand to know when I would be getting my money back from them they said the refund was in the process, and this was a lie as well since they gave me some BS they refused to issue a refund to my credit card till I send a drivers disk back to them. So they intentionally put off giving me a refund for as long as they could and cost me a profit of $ 200 dollars and any future business from my now former client ( the restaurant in downtown Richmond, VA). So order from them at your own risk!!!!"
nofear187 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-13, 12:12 AM   #14
GoD_tattoo
Member


 
GoD_tattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Massachusetts

 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Necromancy

Considering this thread originated in 2005, I would hope he had made his decision by now. But it is always good to know when a company just doesn't learn how to treat customers.

__________________

i7 3930K @ 4.5 GHZ
2X XFX Double D Black Edition 7970's
Crucial M4-256gb boot drive, 4x 1TB WD Caviar Black
Antec HCP-1000 Platinum
24gb G-Skill 1600
PSU Buying Guide Core 2 Overclocking Guide Miah's i3,i5,i7 O/C Guide Classified Rules

My HWBOT My Heat

Last edited by GoD_tattoo; 09-13-13 at 01:04 AM.
GoD_tattoo is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
sno.lcn (09-13-13)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?