Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Problem with my friend's PC

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-05, 09:24 AM Thread Starter   #1
Mud
Member

 
Mud's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jordan

 
Problem with my friend's PC


my friend has the following PC:

Gigabyte 8I875 Board
P4 Prescott 3GHz Processor
512x2 TwinMos PC3200
MSI FX5200 128 GPU
120GB Maxtor 7200 SATA HDD

the problem occurs when installing a new version of WindowsXP SP2, the installation goes fine until it wants to reboot the PC and then enter windows for the first time, the BLUE ERROR SCREEN comes and the PC reboots itself after the first blue indicator moves 1/2 the way of the first time..

the problem keeps happening.. tried removing 1 memory stick and keepin the other, and vise versa.. same thing, tried connecting the sata harddrisk to another port and same thing.. the PC works fine if u install windows SP1 and upgrade it to SP2.. sounds weird eh?? i think its the HDD not sure though..

any ideas?

__________________
Intel Q6600
Giabyte P45-UD3P Rev 1.0
Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme + Scythe S-Flex Fan
4Gb PC8500 OCZ LV
eVGA GTX260 Core216 SC Edition
74gb WD Raptor
320gb WD Caviar 7200
Enermax Liberty 500W PSU
CM Stacker 832
Mud is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-05, 09:30 AM   #2
hibner

 
hibner's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington, WV

10 Year Badge
 
what does the error sceen say. There is usually a message of some sort on it.
hibner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-05, 10:46 AM   #3
pcgamer4life
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
I had this problem, and I never fixed it. I jumped from unknown mobo/celeron processor to dfi lanparty and amd 3000+ and didn't remove old mobo drivers, or install new mobo drivers before installing the mobo and processor. I booted, and windows got corrupted. I tried reinstalling, everything. Your only option is to format, or install on a seperate hard drive and use your current one for backup... atleast.. that's what I had to do.

[edit]
After reading your post again, it may not be the same problem. Mine wouldn't work no matter what version of windows I installed.

__________________
Corsair 500R
Corsair CX600
ASUS Z87-Plus
Intel 4670k
Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Samsung 840 Evo 120gb
Windows 8.1 Professional
500gb WD Green
1TB WD Green
8GB DDR3-1600
ASUS DirectCUII Top+ 270x 2GB
pcgamer4life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-05, 03:25 PM   #4
Quattro
Member

 
Quattro's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dubai, U.A.E

 
Wow.. You actually live in Jordan?
I had no idea just how big 38DD's really were...


Sorry, I just couldn't resist.


As for your question. Where did this disk come from? Is it the original disk you got when you purchased the product, or is it a backed up disk you made in order to keep the original safe and in A1 condition.

__________________
Need a new sig
Quattro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-05, 07:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
Mud
Member

 
Mud's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jordan

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hibner
what does the error sceen say. There is usually a message of some sort on it.
it doesnt give me time to read the error screen as it restarts instantly.. and in the first time that windows start u dont get the option "disable restart on error screen" so it wont let me..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quattro
Wow.. You actually live in Jordan?
I had no idea just how big 38DD's really were...


Sorry, I just couldn't resist.


As for your question. Where did this disk come from? Is it the original disk you got when you purchased the product, or is it a backed up disk you made in order to keep the original safe and in A1 condition.
lol.. anyways its Jordan the country (incase u dont REALLY know it)..

the disk is brand new.. tried with another seagate 80gb SATA drive and the problem is still there.. ill try clearing CMOS..

__________________
Intel Q6600
Giabyte P45-UD3P Rev 1.0
Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme + Scythe S-Flex Fan
4Gb PC8500 OCZ LV
eVGA GTX260 Core216 SC Edition
74gb WD Raptor
320gb WD Caviar 7200
Enermax Liberty 500W PSU
CM Stacker 832
Mud is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-05, 08:01 PM   #6
mofei1
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
not entirely sure about the solution but it looks like ur win xp disk is damaged. u should try and install xp using that disk on another computer/motherboard, and see if u still get the same problem. if u do then u'll know its the disk, not the computer
mofei1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?