Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Ecs K7s5a

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-01, 10:22 PM Thread Starter   #1
badgers
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Ecs K7s5a


Hi I'm the guy who has been on an all in one mobo kick lately.

well I have read and thought and I want opinions on the above board combined with an Inno3d GeForce2 MX400 64mb agp.

I read some good reviews of the board and the vid card.

I think I may give my FIL my current box and make a new one for myself.

does this board OC at all.

does any one think that the PC2400 mem is worth the money? on this board?

is that manufacturer a bad choice for the vid card. Price watch had the vid card for $70 bucks. I am not a heavy gamer. I am more interested in the mod from geforce to Quadro2. because I do mostly 2D AutoCAD and programming.

is the vid card overkill?
sorry to bother but I almost bought the PC chips rig and you all changed my mind. When I started looking I went from dirt cheap to something decent for myself.

I have a vodoo 3 2000 AGP not overclocked and it is fine for my gaming needs(UT and that is it)
I am not interested in Vodoo anymore since the buyout.

any opinions are welcome. I have the heatsink thing under control. Is the IBM 60GXP still the best choice in hard drives?

I run Win200 and Visual Basic, Visual C++, and autocad. Anybody think that a raid board would be worth it? At work a PIII800 takes about 4 min to build most apps. So I figure there must be some disk action going on.

Thank you for your time and have a good day
badgers is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 09-20-01, 10:53 PM   #2
SickBoy
Inactive Moderator



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN

10 Year Badge
 
If you're heavy into Autocad, I'd look into the software Quadro hack (can be found on the front page of this website). You'll get just as much performance in UT and AutoCAD will be a world better. I worked at PTC this summer, and we had a dual 1GHz machine that flew on Pro/E and AutoCAD, mostly because it had a Quadro2 Pro in it.

As far as RAID, you'd have to add a seperate RAID card to the K7S5A. Unless you're dealing with huge CAD files, I think RAID might be unneccessary. If you absolutely must hav RAID, I'd say stick with the K7S5A - it has some of the best memory scores at stock settings, and add a RAID card.

As far as HD's, I like Western Digital.... but I really don't have an enormous amount of experience in that department. I've had a 3.2 GB Fujitsu, a 13.6 GB Maxtor, and a 30 GB WD. So far the WD has been best but the others were 5400 RPM and were ATA66 or slower.

SickBoy

__________________
Used to be awesome
Heatware
SickBoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-01, 03:52 AM   #3
Hugo 59
Senior Member

 
Hugo 59's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Linwood, NC

 
As far as overclocking goes there is a bata bios out which allows you to chang fsb settings. This is what amdmb.com said about it.

"Overclocking on the ECS K7S5A is a bit more challenging than on other motherboards. While they don't offer the ability to change the voltage or multipliers, you can edit front side bus modification with their latest bios, but the FSB selections are limited. Your only choices are: 100, 112, 133, 138 and 150 MHz. Having been spoiled by the 1 MHz increments that many other motherboard manufacturers are offering, this may seem a bit of a disappointment. They have included the option to run the FSB at 133 MHz and the system memory at 166 MHz, which is rather interesting as an overclocking option. Overall however, if the overclocking is what you plan on doing, the ECS K7S5A may not be your first choice of motherboards."

They did give the board a very good review though 9 out of 10 stars.

__________________
P4 1.8a @ 3006 @ 1.6Vcore
Iwill P4HT
Hugo 59 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-01, 04:32 AM   #4
!-=sky=-!
Member

 
!-=sky=-!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hong Kong

10 Year Badge
 
.....i would recommend the asus v7100pro 32mb geforce2 mx400 over the inno3d anytime....or maybe ATI cards because you mentioned about doing 2D autocad work and the geforce2 series might be kind of blurry at 2D

i tried two inno3d cards and they both sucked......one was a geforce2 mx400 32mb and the other was a 64mb
!-=sky=-! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-01, 04:51 AM   #5
.. AE 86 ..
Member

 
.. AE 86 ..'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong

 
agree with u jensen baby

asus is good
.. AE 86 .. is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-01, 10:52 AM   #6
organicker
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
the ecs k7s5a is a great board for the money. heck, it is a great board anyway you look at it. at the moment, however, it does not offer a lot in the way of oc'ing. ocworkbench has a great forum virtually dedicated to this board and also has an oc'ing bios that will allow you to adjust fsb. i would recommend this board to anyone that didn't need to change the multiplier or vcore right now.

organicker
organicker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-01, 08:00 PM   #7
klosters64a
Senior Member

 
klosters64a's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, Wa

 
I'm running a Voodoo 3/2K on the ECS K7S5A. Works just fine for UT, anyway. A GF 256 paints a nicer picture, but if you're not A-B-ing the two Vidcards, the Voodoo is just fine. I've never messed with Autocad, so I don't have a clue--except that the Voodoo is probably a bad choice for it.

I've seen the BM's for a couple of 64 Mb GF2 MX-400's that show a ~15% increase in performance over an original 32 Mb GF 256. Whassup with that?

As mentioned, the K7S5A isn't an OCer's dream board. I don't have a problem with that, as the economic reason for OCing Athlons is just about extinct. The sport remains, of course.

My ECS has been rock stable. Unfortunately, I read a review that stated that IBM 75GXP HDD's(I have a 45 Gb 75GXP. Not a secure feeling--at all) make using the "Ultra" setting for your RAM impossible. From what I read on the BBS at www.storagereview.com , the new IBM 60GXP's are not a good investment. It's time to jerk IBM's chain, hard. I suggest avoiding both the old 75GXP's and the newer 60GXP's.

Some people love/hate every brand of IDE HDD. If I bought one today, I guess Maxtor or WD would be my choice. Ya never know until you have bought 'em! Just make SURE that a prospective Maxtor is NOT a Quantum!

__________________
It's too big to digest and the memory will never fade away. Let our armed response spare as many innocents as is humanly possible. Or reconcile ourselves to reading terrorist attack headlines every day.
klosters64a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-21-01, 08:40 PM Thread Starter   #8
badgers
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001

10 Year Badge
 
thanks for the replies.
When I did a search of the discussion board at www.storagereview.com It seemed that the 60 did not have the problems the 75's did. Only two people had problems with the drive.

anyway, I think I might get the ATI 32 meg Dual vid card.
Programming and debugging is easier with two 19" monitors!

I am sure I will loose 3D performance but I spend to much time playing video games anyway......

anyone have a link or experience with converting a promise IDE card to a raid card? to those PCI cards support ATA 100 RAID?

I always do this, start out with cheap on the brain but end up with all the bells and whistles, (RAID, two moinitors, PC2400 ram yadda yadda yaddya)

Well Thank you for your time and have a good day
badgers is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?