Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Windows reboots when i try to access Properties

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-05, 01:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
Hamspiced
Member

 
Hamspiced's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: detroit

 
Windows reboots when i try to access Properties


Xp seems to reboot whenever i try to access properties of anything in the My Computer area.

I try to access the properties of the C Drive and it reboots (right click C:/ and click properties) i try to access the properties of the dvd drive, same, same even goes for my Flash drive.


Im running WIndows Xp fully updated, no viruses or Spyware that i know of.

Amd xp 2500+ barton, lanparty Nf2 mobo, 160gb hdd, and 512 of mushkin ram.

anyone got any ideas?

__________________
Intel Q6700
4gb Corsair
500gb Sata
Dvd-/+rw
BFG 7800GTx
Truepower 430
Antec P160

Ham's Heatware
Hamspiced is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 01:13 PM   #2
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
does it do it in safe mode as well?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 02:14 PM   #3
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
You could start your troubleshooting by opening Event Viewer (in order to access the error logs, and check for any critical errors)...Start | Run | Type eventvwr.msc and click OK | Highlight "Application" and "System" independently in the LH pane | Right click any error message(s) (critical errors are in Red), and select "Properties" | Write down a couple of the latest critical error messages exactly as they appear (under the "Description" field), and post them in this thread.

Also, open the System Information tool by typing msinfo32 in the Run box | Expand "Components" | Highlight "Problem Devices", and look for any problems that might be listed there.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 05:58 PM Thread Starter   #4
Hamspiced
Member

 
Hamspiced's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: detroit

 
there were no critical errors other then my Aol Instant Messanger which errors once every two weeks... i tried accessing properties of a cd drive, it rebooted then i typed Eventvwr in the run box... it didnt have any errors listed


Problem devices... the only thing it has listed is that i dont have my raid drivers installed for my mobo... since im not using the Raid feature... i figured i didnt need to install the drivers.

__________________
Intel Q6700
4gb Corsair
500gb Sata
Dvd-/+rw
BFG 7800GTx
Truepower 430
Antec P160

Ham's Heatware
Hamspiced is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 07:26 PM   #5
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
If you haven't done so already, I would suggest installing the latest v5.10 of the Unified Driver Package from nVidia here...

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_udp_winxp_5.10

Quote:
Problem devices... the only thing it has listed is that i dont have my raid drivers installed for my mobo... since im not using the Raid feature... i figured i didnt need to install the drivers.
How do you have all of your devices (the two 160GB Maxtor's, and the CD-RW/DVD-RW) connected to the board? Do you have any HDD(s) connected to the RAID controller...in an IDE configuration? If so, then you'll need to install the non-RAID IDE controller drivers (for the Highpoint controller), contained within the above UDP package. You need to have at least SP1 installed prior to installing the UDP. From what I remember of the LP boards...since there's only a single SATA header, both SATA and RAID devices cannot be used at the same time?


Last edited by redduc900; 02-19-05 at 07:47 PM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-05, 02:48 PM Thread Starter   #6
Hamspiced
Member

 
Hamspiced's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: detroit

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduc900
If you haven't done so already, I would suggest installing the latest v5.10 of the Unified Driver Package from nVidia here...

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_udp_winxp_5.10


How do you have all of your devices (the two 160GB Maxtor's, and the CD-RW/DVD-RW) connected to the board? Do you have any HDD(s) connected to the RAID controller...in an IDE configuration? If so, then you'll need to install the non-RAID IDE controller drivers (for the Highpoint controller), contained within the above UDP package. You need to have at least SP1 installed prior to installing the UDP. From what I remember of the LP boards...since there's only a single SATA header, both SATA and RAID devices cannot be used at the same time?

i just have both drives to one IDE connector and one is slave one as master. Both are partitioned 80/80 with a boot of linux on one.

__________________
Intel Q6700
4gb Corsair
500gb Sata
Dvd-/+rw
BFG 7800GTx
Truepower 430
Antec P160

Ham's Heatware
Hamspiced is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?