Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

issues with 1.4/K7v dragon

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-01, 12:32 AM Thread Starter   #1
doctormidnight
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2001

 
issues with 1.4/K7v dragon


Okay, I'm really getting ****ed off I have a Soyo K7V-Dragon Mobo, 768 MB PC2100 DDR, and a Tbird 1.4/266fsb...heres the prob...I can get to about 1.518 using a combo of the multiplier and the FSB...anything above that and the computer will POST, but won't get any further than that...I have a ThermalRight SK6 with an 80 mm Delta fan (thats right, I use an 80/60 adapter)..temps at 1.5 are about 40 at idle and about 45 at load, and have never gotten to 50c, even when running UD for 4 or 5 days straight...What the hell is going on here? I have an Inwin Q500 case, 1 intake, 3 exhaust fans, all 80mm 4900 RPM, so no bull**** about heat problems just need some guidance from you dudes...
doctormidnight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-01, 01:47 AM   #2
!-=sky=-!
Member

 
!-=sky=-!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hong Kong

10 Year Badge
 
up the vcore........
!-=sky=-! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-01, 02:33 AM   #3
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
Yeah, I agree, give it some more juice. I had a 1000 AYHJA running at 138x11 = 1518 for awhile, but I think I pushed the voltage up to at least 1.9 or so. Give it a try.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-01, 03:31 AM   #4
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
I see people get their vcores to 2.33, how much will the CPU live on such high Vcores? and what are the defualt Speed/Vcore CPU life spend?

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-01, 10:21 AM Thread Starter   #5
doctormidnight
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2001

 
I have already upped the vcore to the max the mobo will go (soyo does it in the bios, not dipswitch), and every point in between with absolutely no change...any other ideas???
doctormidnight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-22-01, 02:05 PM   #6
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
What stepping do you have on the core? Have you checked? Some steppings don't go very high at all. Refer to the guide here for what they are, where to check, etc. I had a 1000 AYHJA Y and check how high I got it on my dragon...

edit: They don't have 1400 listings, but you can see by the approximate percentage increase what you can expect.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-01, 01:00 AM Thread Starter   #7
doctormidnight
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2001

 
Heres what I got running CPUID...according to the info out there, only the newest athlons have a value of 644, so that means that we have the exact same chip.

ftp://63.161.24.47/images/cpuid.bmp
doctormidnight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-01, 01:17 AM   #8
Tithulta
Member

 
Tithulta's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cleveland, TN

 
Just throwing an idea out here, but could it have anything to do with the PSU ?

or could it be Ram related?

I know if i try to set my FSB to 133/133 then I post, but hang at the windows splash screen. Which my crucial ddr pc2100 doesn't seem to want to run @ cas2 ultra

__________________
Future APU system; Coming soon
AM3 3.6ghz x4 975 4gb ddr3 1600
AM2 Tricore 2.4ghz 2gb ddr2 800
A64 3000+ 2 systems 939
tforce 6100's w/2gb ddr400
7600gs and 2 3650's
Heatware
Tithulta is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?