• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gigabyte K8ns ultra 939 Raid Problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

serinol

I am having a great deal of trouble setting up RAID. There are two sets of SATA connectors on the board, (1). SATA0 SB & SATA1 SB (2). SATA0 SII & SATA1 SII. I don't know which ones to use to set up a stripped RAID array using two WD 200GB SATA hard drives. I have been able to install windows xp and all of the componants work. I just can't seem to set up a stripped RAID array. This is my first build so please be as simple in your explaination as you can. Thanks in advance.http://www.ocforums.com/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=48#
cry

PS Please include instructions on setting up the bios for Raid.

System:

Gigabyte k8ns-Ultra 939
M/B Rev : 1.1
BIOS Ver : F5

Video Card: Chaintech fx 5500
CPU: AMD: 3000+
Operation System : Win XP Pro
Memory Brand : Corsair DDR
Memory Size : (2) Sticks of 512MB Each
Power Supply : Thermaltake480 W
Hard drives-(2) Western Digital Sata 200 GB each.
Dvd's-(1) Sony 710a and (1)lite-on dvd drive

I am a photographer and will be using this rig to process images mainly using Adobe CS. I hope that I chose the right componants. Thanks.

i just got this board 2 weeks ago and had a little trouble setting the sata raid up......so heres how i did it:

*before you begin......if you have any ide hard drives installed....disconnect them until you are done installing windows onto your newly created sata raid array.

first thing to do is copy the raid drivers onto a floppy. you will find these on the cd that came with your motherboard (i made 2...one with the nvidia raid drivers and one with the SiL drivers). the instructions for this are on page 78 in the manual.