Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Modding a Mac Mouse...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-05, 03:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
NsOmNiA91130
Member

 
NsOmNiA91130's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

 
Modding a Mac Mouse...


Yeah....as many of you may have seen in my other thread (OF WHICH I DID NOT STEAL THE MOUSE!!!), I'm modding one of those round single-button mac mouse. I'm gonna put an LED in it, but i have no clue what to do...my camera sucks arse, so no pics either (.2 MP, anyone?)
NsOmNiA91130 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-05, 03:23 PM   #2
the adam
Member

 
the adam's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Earth

 
can u make it have two buttons? I will never use a mac until they switch to a two button mouse with the option of a scroll wheel

__________________
Main Rig
Parts: DFI Nf4 ultra-d modded to sli-d| A64 3200+ | 2 80gb SATA hds | Nvidia 6800gt (oc'd to ultra speeds) | 2gb PDP XBL Ram (TCCD Stuff) | 500 Watt Fortron PSU | dvd-rom | dvd burner

Heatware
the adam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-05, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #3
NsOmNiA91130
Member

 
NsOmNiA91130's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

 
Took apart my old MicroSuck mouse, the way there were soldered on was different. So no...i guess.
NsOmNiA91130 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-05, 03:49 PM   #4
zip22
Member

 
zip22's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003

 
adam, you dont have to use the mac mouse on a mac. they support all usb mice.

for the mod, all you need to do is find the power cables (usually red and black in electronics). then find what the voltage is, and figure out a resistor that will make it useable with an LED
zip22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-05, 05:16 PM   #5
Tazon
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Argentina

 
add a second button . . . even if it does nothing, just to click it once in a while and keep your other finger alive.

__________________
TO DO LIST
1 - Think
2 - Post
3 - Do not mess with the order of to-do list!
Tazon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-05, 06:09 PM   #6
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Ahahahahha

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-05, 10:05 PM   #7
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
The USB wire color coding standard uses red for +5v and black for ground (how novel). I can't remember which data cables are colored for D+ or D- but they're white and green and shouldn't be tampered with. As a general rule of thumb I use 1/4 watt 33ohm resistors when powering LEDs from +5v

You difficulty may actually be the fact that Apple is known for ignoring form factors and part standards. I wouldn't be too optimistic of the wires being color coded correctly, so you'll need to test them with a multimeter. I have also yet to see Apple manufacture a mouse that I find comfortable. Atleast they bothered to use USB so you can use something else.

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-05, 01:51 AM   #8
Celeron_Phreak
Member

 
Celeron_Phreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Idaho

 
Mac mice wern't made to be comfortable, they were made for use in cold conditions, in which you could still use your computer with mittens on. lol

__________________
Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

Heatware
Celeron_Phreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-05, 03:11 AM   #9
threeme2189
Member

 
threeme2189's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Drowning my sorrow and misery in apple juice

 
lol good one...
us pc dudes never use our computers when its cold cause the cpu gets so damn hot that it heats everything else up...

__________________
My Rig:
HOT Athlon XP 2600 T-Bred :: GA-7M400M Gigabyte Mobo
Asus 9600XT OC from 500/300@580/360 stock! :: 512 MB 333Mhz Spektek Ram
Crappy 80 Gig HDD :: Sony CD Burner/dvd drive + CD drive

If You'll Excuse Me, I Have A Beam Of Light To Catch.
threeme2189 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-05, 02:52 PM Thread Starter   #10
NsOmNiA91130
Member

 
NsOmNiA91130's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

 
Ah, thanks Cpt. Slug, I'm using a LED-like light (which is HELLA powerful) that i got from a flashlight. That light gets powered directly from a AA battery...so will I need anything.
NsOmNiA91130 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-05, 03:03 PM   #11
BTTB
Member



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
If you can mod the mouse to accomodate a battery, I don't think you would.
BTTB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-05, 04:00 PM Thread Starter   #12
NsOmNiA91130
Member

 
NsOmNiA91130's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

 
Do you know how damn small these things are?

Maybe a really big watch battery...or a kitten...
NsOmNiA91130 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-05, 09:20 AM   #13
ObEyME!
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brazil

 
You know i don't see the meaning of modding this little fella. I tried some modding stuff. But as for me i don't have those nessesry skills to make it on a cool level. I painted once my MX510. Pretty cool but not as cool as it was. i saw lots of freaky mice. Find something on ebay. Also i tried to mod my Steelpad 4D but only thing i made is spoiled it. I was looking realy creepy but the glidence was still on the level.

Last edited by ObEyME!; 03-05-05 at 10:10 AM.
ObEyME! is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?