Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

external PS

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-05, 10:35 AM Thread Starter   #1
cyb3rstyle
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
external PS


Does anyone know if there are external power supplies. I am looking to do a desktop style (not tower) case and the cooler master cavalier only has a 300 watter and it is and odd size made for the case.
cyb3rstyle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-05, 10:40 AM   #2
veryhumid



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire

 
a company called meanwell makes some good ones. are you sure your new case won't fit a standard atx form factor power supply?

__________________

< FOLD!
< Heatware

< EVGA X58, 920, TRUE, 12GB Corsair, 2 x EVGA GTX 285, Enermax Revolution, Velociraptor, 7 64-bit
veryhumid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-05, 11:02 AM Thread Starter   #3
cyb3rstyle
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
ps


Yeah I'm sure is an odd ball sized PS
cyb3rstyle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-05, 11:18 AM   #4
nicspits
Member

 
nicspits's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Oceanside, CA AT LAST!

10 Year Badge
 
You could simply take the psu out and have the cables running inside, it'll be a little less ugly then having the meanwell sitting outside, hopefully.

__________________
I7 960 @4.2 <70C 12GB G'Skill@1600mhzC888 MSI Xpower 1xEVGA GTX 570 2xTB Blacks 2TB Seagate
[url="http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=10722"]{{~~~HEAT~~~}}
nicspits is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-05, 04:39 PM Thread Starter   #5
cyb3rstyle
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
thougt of that but I would have to find a PS with some long cables
cyb3rstyle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-05, 05:20 PM   #6
nicspits
Member

 
nicspits's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Oceanside, CA AT LAST!

10 Year Badge
 
any quality psu has long cables, wouldn't be hard at all. The main thing is the atx cable, which should definately be large enough for a desktop case, in fact, just about any psu should have long enough cables for a desktop case except one meant for a desktop case. You can always increase the length of 4 pins by using splitters or just extensions.

__________________
I7 960 @4.2 <70C 12GB G'Skill@1600mhzC888 MSI Xpower 1xEVGA GTX 570 2xTB Blacks 2TB Seagate
[url="http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=10722"]{{~~~HEAT~~~}}
nicspits is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?