Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Overclocking problem with DFI nF4 ultra..please help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-05, 08:48 AM Thread Starter   #1
ray99mond
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Malaysia

 
Overclocking problem with DFI nF4 ultra..please help


I just got a DFI nf4 ultra D, rev0A.
When I plan to increase the FSB from 200, the pc will reboot during the boot up ifi set the fsb more than 203?
Anyone know what setting or what problem do I have? I am using WD SATA drive on SATA port 1...
I tried BIOS 09/2, 15/2 also no help

THX a lot
ray99mond is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-02-05, 12:22 PM   #2
kukyfrope
Member

 
kukyfrope's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lawrence, Kansas (KU)

 
Could you post more about your system? What chip are you using with what multi/fsb combo and what voltages? What about RAM modules and timings?
kukyfrope is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-05, 12:27 PM Thread Starter   #3
ray99mond
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Malaysia

 
basiscally everything is default ...
my ram n processor is not a problem coz i can go more than 250 on other nf4 board..
so the problem is the bios setting, or others
ray99mond is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-05, 02:39 PM   #4
custom_coms
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
We need to know exact settings! And exact ram. This board is VERY ram picky, even if you know the ram is good.
custom_coms is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-05, 05:05 PM   #5
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
I have the EXACT same problem, I have gotten it in to windows at 260HT stable before after playing with it, but I set it too high, and it went back to its not going in to windows over 205ishHT.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-05, 08:15 PM Thread Starter   #6
ray99mond
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Malaysia

 
any idea ?

Last edited by ray99mond; 03-02-05 at 10:45 PM.
ray99mond is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-02-05, 09:35 PM   #7
OakenGoby
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GA

 
I am having a very similar situation. I am using OCZ VX memory and I cannot pass memtest if I have an FSB higher than 210. I am currently running at 2-2-2-5, but no go anything past 210. Any ideas, I am sure it is not a RAM issue as OCZ VX is proven binned memory. Similar to the TwinMOS SP stuff that TimoneX is having such great experience with.
OakenGoby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 09:22 AM   #8
Dukemurmur
Member

 
Dukemurmur's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA, Vermont

 
I have having the same issues cant go over 250 with 1.5-2-2-5 timmings...and now seems like anything over stock is eating windows files sytem in sig...we have to figure out a work around as it is kind vexing me that this board is doing this...
Dukemurmur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 09:25 AM   #9
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
The 02/17 & 02/18 bios versions seem to be the best, I recommend them. The board is not only picky about ram, but picky about power. Make certain you have all FOUR power connectors connected to the board and if you have a 20pin PSU you need to get a 24pin unit.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 09:38 AM   #10
Hippey
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Timone, are you saying to plug in the extra FDD and the HDD connectors even though they're only there if you're using SLI?
Hippey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 09:51 AM   #11
Dukemurmur
Member

 
Dukemurmur's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA, Vermont

 
I have 24pin PSU and i have the Molex and the fdd conector in along with the other 4pin...what do you recomend for flashing the bios with...

TimoneX i am going to drop you a PM if you arn't already swamped witht hem that is...
Dukemurmur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 10:56 AM   #12
Da Whip
Senior Member

 
Da Whip's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, you can keep the midwest!!

 
Here is the link to DFI's Recommended Memory for nF4 MOBO's.
http://www.dfi.com.tw/Support/mb_faq...YPE=US&SITE=NA

TimoneX is asking for specific memory for a reason.

__________________
New System:
Asus MA379-T Deluxe bios 602
AMD Phenom II 940 Black Edition@ 3.35Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 35C Ambient, 50-60C load
4gig (2x2gig) Kingston Hyper X 1066
Asus Radeon X4870 Black Knight 1gig
Lg DVD Burner
PC Power & Cooling 750 watt Silencer
Thermaltake V9 Black Edition (2x 230mm & 2x 120mm fans)

My Heatware
Da Whip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 11:38 AM   #13
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
If you have the recommended PSU & have all the power connections connected and still cannot get the board to overclock then I suggest you fllash to beta bios 02/17 or 02/18. I've hosted them here:

http://webpages.charter.net/timonex/nf4ld217.rar
http://webpages.charter.net/timonex/nf4ld218.rar

Please note the files are in .rar format and must be extracted prior to flashing. I suggest you use winrar and test the files prior to extracting & flashing to ensure data integrity.

If you cannot get into windows to use winflash then either place the *.bin file together with awdflash.exe on a clean boot floppy or CD. Boot from the floppy or CD you created and type:

awdflash /cc /cp <biosfile.bin>

If you're using a bootable CD(preferred) then do not try to save the old file, as you'll encounter write errors. When finished flashing restart the system, enter bios, select load optimized defaults, save & exit, then get into the bios and change the necessary settings. If you notice any odd behavior in the bios or data corruption, I suggest you shut the system down and reset the CMOS jumper for a minimum of 30 seconds. There are well written instructions on resetting the CMOS on DFI boards located here:

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=325031

There is also a good deal of information about setting this board up located in my thread here:

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=365248&page=1

Suggested PERFORMANCE memory timings for OCZ VX/winbond UTT are:

Ratio 200(1:1)
CPC Enable
CAS 1.5
TRCD 2
TRAS 0
TRP 2
TRC 7
TRFC 15
TRRD 1
TWR 2
TWTR 1
TRTW 1
TREF 3120
TWCL 1
INTERLEAVE Enabled

DQS Skew Increase
DQS Skew V 0
Dram Drive Str 6
Dram Data 4
Max Async 6.0ns
Read Preamble 5.0ns
Idle Cycle Counter Enable
R/W Bypass 16x
Bypass Max 7x
32Byte Granularity Disable(8 Bursts)

If these settings do not work then try
2-2-2-8
TRC = 9
TRFC =17
TREF = 0648
TWTR = 02
TRTW = 02
Max Async = 7.0ns
Read Preamble = 6.5ns
Idle Cycle Counter = Disable

If you get a floppy boot error and long beeps then you likely have a memory setting problem and I've found holding the <insert> key while powering up to be effective at putting the system into "safe" boot mode. There is also the safe boot jumper. If all else fails reset the CMOS as per the previous instructions.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 11:44 AM   #14
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Instructions for creating a clean boot CD for bios flashing in Floppy 2.88Mb emulation mode:

http://www.nu2.nu/bootcd/
1) Get BCD_v1.1.1, BFD, v1.0.7, Clean v1.0, & winaspi32.dll
2) Extract BCD, BFD, and Clean to c:\BCD (will overwrite itself...this is normal)
3) Put winaspi32.dll in C:\BCD\bin
4) Put awdflash.exe and the bios files you want to burn(02/17, 02/18) into c:\bcd\cds\clean\bootdisk
5) Insert CD-R/RW
6) Go to a command prompt and CD to C:\BCD
7) Type "BCD CLEAN"

Done. It'll create one clean boot CD w/ 2.88Mb Floppy emulation.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 08:29 PM Thread Starter   #15
ray99mond
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Malaysia

 
what is the main major when tweaking the memory from A64tweaker??
what need to concern 1st?
ray99mond is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-03-05, 08:55 PM   #16
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
There's really no use for A64 tweaker on the DFI nf4 boards. DFI has included every single option tweaker has right in the bios and a few more.

If you tell me exactly what brand & model of ram you have, it's configuration(SS or DS), it's default timings, it's voltage requirements, and exactly which cpu you have as well as the approximate capabilities of both your CPU & ram I can probably recommend some decent bios settings.

Aside from the obviously important mem settings of cas, trp, trcd, & tras, I've found the trc, trfc, tref, & async latency to be the most important settings that can either make or break memory stability. The more recent beta bios' also have a completely functional memtest+ v1.51 embedded into them making diagnosing memory problems or just optimizing memory a great deal more convenient than it is on other boards.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-05, 04:42 AM Thread Starter   #17
ray99mond
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Malaysia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimoneX
There's really no use for A64 tweaker on the DFI nf4 boards. DFI has included every single option tweaker has right in the bios and a few more.

If you tell me exactly what brand & model of ram you have, it's configuration(SS or DS), it's default timings, it's voltage requirements, and exactly which cpu you have as well as the approximate capabilities of both your CPU & ram I can probably recommend some decent bios settings.

Aside from the obviously important mem settings of cas, trp, trcd, & tras, I've found the trc, trfc, tref, & async latency to be the most important settings that can either make or break memory stability. The more recent beta bios' also have a completely functional memtest+ v1.51 embedded into them making diagnosing memory problems or just optimizing memory a great deal more convenient than it is on other boards.

Hi, Thx for your help.
what is the best setting for ram below (all dual channel)
crucial ballistic pc4000 - micron ballistic - 1GB
kingston hyperx pc4300 - hynix ct-d43 - 512MB
corsair xms xlpro - samsung tccd - 1GB
ray99mond is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?