• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Help Setting FTP Server!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rumrunner

Fellas,

I'm trying to setup my own ftp site via Filezilla server. I want to use my own computer as the server.

Let me see if I have this right...

-Filezilla server is the application that sets up my server setting and allows users to connect right?

-Filezilla is just an application used to connect to other FTP sties right?

So, if I wanted to use my pc as a server, then how do I configure filezilla server? I tried putting my IP address in the host bar and tried to connect, but that didn't work. I'm really confused here, I have no experience with this.

Filezilla server has no tutorial!

Any help pls,

Rob

Basically, you need to install Filezilla server and make sure that the Filezilla service on your PC is started. Then, make yourself a username and password in the Users section of the Filezilla interface. Give it a password, then in the Shared Folders section of the Users area, point to the folder you want to give access to, and check off the appropriate permissions.

Next, install the Filezilla client on your client computer. Go to File - Site Manager, create a new site, give it the server IP address, and your username/password, and connect with it. There shouldn't be any special configuration on either end that you need to do.

Now, if you have the server inside a router/firewall and you want to connect from outside the router/firewall, you need to set up address translation, or at least port forwarding in your router/firewall.

Thanks for quick reply! What do you mean exactly when you say that Filezilla service on my pc has to be started?