Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Celeron D Chipset Support

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-05, 01:21 PM Thread Starter   #1
cubaxp
Member

 
cubaxp's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Celeron D Chipset Support


I have terribles experinces with the compatibilities of the Celeron D CPUs, and my question is:
Which chipsets of Intel, SIS and VIA exactly support this CPU?
cubaxp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-05, 01:38 PM   #2
sean478
Member

 
sean478's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: arizona (cave creek)

 
Ones That Suport At Least A 533 Bus And Have Atleast 6 Mosfets I Personaly Wouldent Putit On A Mobo That Doesnt Suport A 800 Fsb Cause Those Are Usaly Tougher Mobos AND THE MORE MOSFETS THE BETTER
sean478 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 06:55 AM Thread Starter   #3
cubaxp
Member

 
cubaxp's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
thanks sean478, any other suggestion?
cubaxp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 08:21 AM   #4
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
The i875 chipset is probably your best bet, something like the Abit IC7-G if you are looking at socket 478. The i865 would be the next choice. I would not even consider VIA or SIS chipsets.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 08:40 AM Thread Starter   #5
cubaxp
Member

 
cubaxp's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
well I exactly want to know what chipsets are compatible with the Celeron D, not what's the best chipset for me???
cubaxp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 08:46 AM   #6
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
what do you intend to use as other system components? Do you want PCI-E? DDR2? AGP? DDR? and what version of Celeron are you going to put in? the S478 or LGA775 version?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 09:12 AM Thread Starter   #7
cubaxp
Member

 
cubaxp's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
well lets start from the begining... I have a 2.4 Ghz Celeron D and I have tested it on various 845 intel chipsets boards, and it only works on an Intel board model: D845GVSR, and this board have an Intel 845GV chipset... that's why I need to know on what chipsets of the 845 series and SIS works this CPU...???? thanks
cubaxp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 10:49 AM   #8
warlock110
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
it works on the 865 chipset, i have one on the abit AS8 and it works perfectly fine. LGA775 chip though, should be the same for 478

__________________
GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate
2 X 250GB Maxtor
1 X 160GB Seagate
1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
Creative Audigy 4 Pro
7600GS @ 550/420
TT Big Typhoon
warlock110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 11:05 AM   #9
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Ok, the i845 chipset is socket 478. The i845 does not officially support the Prescotts. Maybe you can find one that it will work on, but there will be no BIOS updates that truly support it. You really need to step up to the i865/i875 chipsets.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 11:10 AM   #10
elec999
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Most motherboards that support prescott cpus, will also support celeron d. Or in most case a bios update will fix the problem.
Thanks
elec999 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-05, 11:45 AM Thread Starter   #11
cubaxp
Member

 
cubaxp's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
ok, that's all that I need to know, really thanks to all....
cubaxp is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?