• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

About to build my own PC for the first time!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jeff33

Registered
Hi,

I am looking in to building my own PC for the first time. I have never build one from scratch before. Here is what I am lining up although I have not checked everything for compatibility as I am new to AMD.

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 / 1MB / 2000MHz FSB / Socket 939 / Processor
Mobo: Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe nVidia Socket 939 Motherboard / PCI Express / Audio / Dual Gigabit LAN / Serial ATA / Dual RAID / USB 2.0 & Firewire
GFX card: BFG GeForce 6800 Ultra / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / Dual DVI / TV Out / Video Card
Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024MB PC3200 400MHz Dual Channel DDR Memory (4 x 512MB)
HD's: Western Digital Raptor 74GB Serial ATA 10K / 8MB / S-ATA-150 / OEM / Hard Drives X 2 in Raid1
Sound: Soud Blaster Audigy 7.1 Platinum Pro
Case: Thermaltake of some sort (unknown still)
PSU: 600W Enermax
CD rom: Standard LG 52x48x52
DVD rom: Plextor 716A

I have decided to build this my self and buy all the parts separate after a bad experience with the local computer shop. I have a friend who has built many PC's and has offered to help me out. Any suggestions on different hardware or any other suggestions would be great!

Thanks
Jeff

them's a lot 'o' money you spendin there. but excellent choices over all. but why go thermaltake? not that I have anything personal against them, I just think if you're gonna get the best of the best with all of your other hardware, you can get something better than a Thermaltake.

btw, :welcome:

_l4st_chanC3__ said: