Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

This windows tweak HAS to be a joke...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-05, 02:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
willkill1337
Member

 
willkill1337's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: irc.zirc.org - #octeams

 
This windows tweak HAS to be a joke...


It is possible to boost overall system performance by increasing the IRQ priority of the CMOS real-time clock with the following Registry change.

copy this:

REGEDIT4 [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetControlPr iorityControl] ''IRQ8Priority''=dword:00000001

Paste it into a text editor such as Notepad or Wordpad. Save the file as whatever name you want, perhaps boost_irq_priority with a .reg file extension e.g. boost_irq_priority.reg - you can now close the text-editor and simply double-click on the file you just created to enter the information into the registry. To undo this tweak, repeat the procedure but copy this instead into the text file: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetControlPr iorityControl] ''IRQ8Priority''=dword:00000000

You should find that your overall system performance increases from this tweak.


Is this a joke? It seems like it. I have no idea how increasing the priority of the CMOS clock could increase system performance.
willkill1337 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-05, 03:03 PM   #2
NsOmNiA91130
Member

 
NsOmNiA91130's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ

 
It's the goverment trying to take over your computer
NsOmNiA91130 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-05, 03:08 PM Thread Starter   #3
willkill1337
Member

 
willkill1337's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: irc.zirc.org - #octeams

 
Rofl! I mean like its some thing made up to kill the computers of n00bs or something, right?!? *embarrased face*
willkill1337 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-05, 04:38 PM   #4
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I can't say if it does anything or not, though I think IRQxPriority is a valid registry entry. Supposedly increasing the priority of a secific IRQ will increase the performance of the devices using that IRQ. One simple way to check the validity of it would be to increase the priority of your Video Card or NIC and see if if FPS or MB/sec are improved from it. Of course, that won't prove wether or not increasing the clock priority helps any, but if the registry tweak dosen't work for OTHER IRQs it certianly wont work for the clock

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-05, 04:42 PM Thread Starter   #5
willkill1337
Member

 
willkill1337's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: irc.zirc.org - #octeams

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JigPu
it certianly wont work for the clock
JigPu
Heh! That was what I was thinking
willkill1337 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 12:03 AM   #6
flixotide
Member

 
flixotide's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denmark

 
I may have stumbled across this tweak more or less by accident with my former rig, an NF2 based barton 2500+.

For some odd reason, every second time I booted the machine up, the real-time clock would be totally screwed, 1 hour would pass in 2-3 seconds.

needless to say, if I started a game, NBA LIve 2005, RollerCoaster Tycoon or Unreal Tournament, the games would literally flash acrosss the screen like nothing I have ever seen before.

We're talking "ludicrous speed"... soooo, in theory I could imagine its tweakable, but definately recommendable

Cheers, Flix

__________________
Ethical ancient-folder for Team 32. I'm watching you!

Advisor and supporter within young peoples
depression and anxiety group. Drop me a PM
if you're stuck in the rut and need a boot up.

Rate threads you like.
flixotide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 12:39 AM   #7
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
i think its changes it back to tieing everything back into clock cycles like an older computers (8086/286 old)

that would explain the time clock and the games
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 01:07 AM   #8
Rumrunner
Member

 
Rumrunner's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dover DE.

 
So, let me see if I got this straight. Changing the IRQ priority of the C-MOS real time clock clock will allow other components to have more priority.

But to what degree?

I would think that the time clock IRQ only keeps tracks of seconds, meaning that once every second, a request is made to the cpu to run a process which updates the time for your operating system. I don't see how a process this small can't be completed with one clock cycle. One clock cycle every second is practically nothing.

__________________
INTEL 3930K @ 4.6 oc H100 cooler
Asus Rampage Extreme IV
3x EVGA superclocked 780's
3X Benq 2420T LED 5760x1080
Soundblaster X-FI Titanium Pro
16gb Corsair Vengance @ 2400
Seasonic X-1250W
240 GB Corsair Force GT synchronous SSD
640 WD Caviar black
Rumrunner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 02:34 AM   #9
aao_pwner
Member

 
aao_pwner's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NsOmNiA91130
It's the goverment trying to take over your computer

LoL they use WAAAAY more high tech stuff than that bud (reg editing).....
aao_pwner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 02:56 AM   #10
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob 119
So, let me see if I got this straight. Changing the IRQ priority of the C-MOS real time clock clock will allow other components to have more priority.

But to what degree?

I would think that the time clock IRQ only keeps tracks of seconds, meaning that once every second, a request is made to the cpu to run a process which updates the time for your operating system. I don't see how a process this small can't be completed with one clock cycle. One clock cycle every second is practically nothing.

thats the thing....if it sets the time clock for example to the same clock of the cpu then ever time theres a cpu clock cycle the secconds will change on your time clock

back long ago they used to tie the programs to the core clock speed and all was well untill it became more thank 60 clock cycles per seccond....kinda think of it as 60 FPS...

but since computers now have WAY more than 60 clock cycles per seccond they no longer tie programs to the clock cycles them selves....now dont ask me how they do it now because thats some complicated crap i dont even know

i just know my old stuff....and my hardware
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 03:38 PM   #11
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
What I think it would do (again, assuming it does anything ) is to allow for a more stable Real Time Clock (RTC) clock tick. The registry entry would give priority to interrupts (requests for the CPU to drop what it's doing and respond to an event) which are generated by the RTC. The added priority would assure that the clock is updated almost the moment that it requests to be. This could theoretically increase multi-tasking performance, since Windows allows each program/thread to run for X milliseconds before running the next one. With a more stable clock, programs wouldn't accidently hog CPU time because of the RTC not being updated. (Though, the hogging would go both ways, and your foreground program/game/etc would at times get more CPU time than it should too... so I don't see how it would really change anything )

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-05, 05:18 PM   #12
Needitcooler
Member

 
Needitcooler's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle

10 Year Badge
 
I have used this tweak a couple of times on various builds, but I am not sure if it did anything productive. It didn't hurt anything though.

__________________
CPU - 2500K @ 4.8 Ghz
Cooling - XSPC Bay Res > XSPC RX360 Rad w 6x GT AP-15's > EK Supreme HF CPU Block
RAM - GSkill Sniper DDR3 1600 8 GB
VID - XFX 7950 @ Stock
MB - Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
SDD/HDD - Kingston HyperX 120GB and Hitachi 1.5 TB
PSU - Seasonic Platinum 860W
Monitor - Dell 24" IPS U2410
Keyboard/Mouse - Corsair K90 and Logitech G500
Proud member of the, "Let's take the warning labels off everything and let evolution run its course," club.
Don't Hassle the HAF
Needitcooler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-05, 09:09 PM   #13
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
If it does anything, which is highly doubtful, the results are less than noticeable contrary to claims...

http://www.pcguide.com/ref/mbsys/res...c_Priority.htm

While at the above site, take a look at the description of what the RTC interrupt is used for. There are several issues with this particular "trick", primarily the fact that RTC is already the third highest priority interrupt...so raising it is would be meaningless. The only things higher are the system timer and the keyboard.


Last edited by redduc900; 03-30-05 at 09:34 PM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-05, 11:00 AM   #14
smokin9
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2002

 
This tweak is old news, I read this like year or more ago on tweaktown, used it a few time also and like someones else said Im not positive it increased anything but it sure didnt hurt anything at all either.
smokin9 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-05, 01:08 PM   #15
ghettocomp
Master of teh Ghetto Mods

 
ghettocomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Choosing between two evils, I might pick the one I've never tried before.

 
Soooo.... would it possibly help to increase the priority for something perhaps like a dedicated Folding rig, even if only it helped to push WU's out a few minutes quicker?

__________________
I find that most people are like Slinkies.. They are not really good for anything, but can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. :P
ghettocomp is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?