Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

OCD DDR600 on the ASUS A8V

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-05, 03:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
OCD DDR600 on the ASUS A8V


I just got the OCZ EL DDR PC-4800 Dual Channel Platinum kit and I'm testing it out. But it doesn't seem to be meeting it's advertised specs. First off, the SPD is supposed to be 300MHz at 2.5-4-4-10. But CPU-Z says it's 2.5-6-6-16. Sandra says it's 2.5-6-6-15. And Everest even says its 2.5-7-7-16. (You can see in my screenshot below.)



I think all these are really bad, right?!

And when I set the timings to 2.5-4-4-10, I can't get above 290MHz stable.

By the way, I am running it at 2.8V according to it's specs. My motherboard can't run any higher Vdimm for me to experiment with. But already it seems that this RAM isn't meeting it's advertised specs.

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-05-05, 03:34 PM   #2
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 




do you have latest bios flashed ??

please list the rest of your pc and there specs...
also list all voltages...
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-05, 04:40 PM Thread Starter   #3
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme Barton


do you have latest bios flashed ??

please list the rest of your pc and there specs...
also list all voltages...
Thanks for the welcome . . .

I'm using the 1009 BIOS. I tried the beta 1011.005 but I didn't see any advantage to it.

My voltages are basically maxed on everything . . .
Vcore = 1.75
Vlink = 2.6
DDR = 2.8
AGP = 1.6

Other settings are . . .
CPU multi.: 8
FSB: 300
HTT: 4x (the board is stable at 325x4=1300HTT --> 2600HTT data rate)
Command rate: 2T

I can't think of any other relevant specs on the system besides what's already in my signature.

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-05, 05:43 PM   #4
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
you should keep the check mark checked that says show signature. so its easier

have you tested with 3x htt ?

that sucks that your board cant go above 2.8 vdimm.. thats a hard one.. you know of any mods ?? if there are vdimm mods available you may want to consider. are you sure there getting the 2.85 volts specced ?? your voltage may not be read correctly through bios .. and possibly not getting enough .. just a thought .. wouldnt be surprised if almost everyone had to put vdimm at 2.8 to get it up in that range.. some boards read overvolted some under.. so there's a good chance that it could be that way on your setup ..
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-05, 08:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme Barton
you should keep the check mark checked that says show signature. so its easier

have you tested with 3x htt ?

that sucks that your board cant go above 2.8 vdimm.. thats a hard one.. you know of any mods ?? if there are vdimm mods available you may want to consider. are you sure there getting the 2.85 volts specced ?? your voltage may not be read correctly through bios .. and possibly not getting enough .. just a thought .. wouldnt be surprised if almost everyone had to put vdimm at 2.8 to get it up in that range.. some boards read overvolted some under.. so there's a good chance that it could be that way on your setup ..
Thanks for the suggestions . . .

I'm pretty sure the HTT multi isn't the problem because I've tested the board at 325MHz FSB with a 4x HTT multi on Prime95 for 21 hours without any problems. I've also run for months with 300MHz (4x HTT) without any problem. . .

As for Vdimm mods, the only safe one I know of is the DDR booster from OCZ. But unfortunately it's not compatible with this board. . . . But I figure that if I'm running the memory at the rated voltage then I should be able to still reach the rated speeds. . . Do you think the fact that it's rated at 2.85V and I'm running it at 2.8V would be the reason? But how can we explain the SPD as well? . . . Thanks for the help.

By the way, I always leave the checkmark on "show your signature." Were they missing from prior posts?

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD

Last edited by Revivalist; 04-07-05 at 12:31 AM.
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-05, 11:04 PM   #6
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
i apologize.. i had it turned off in options.. lol ...sorry
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-05, 11:08 PM   #7
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
do you have money available for an upgrade ?
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 11:11 AM Thread Starter   #8
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme Barton
do you have money available for an upgrade ?
What kind of upgrade? I'm pretty happy with my motherboard, CPU, and everything else. So I guess if I have to I'll just run this RAM at whatever speeds this board can handle.

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 11:49 AM   #9
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
i was just gonna suggest a better overclcoking board..

you are fine running what you have.
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 07:59 PM   #10
reddywing1
Member

 
reddywing1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Santa Clara, Ca.

 
Why don't you at least try dropping the HT back to 3x. If your board truely is stable at Htt300 x 4 you can always move it up. But your o/c is not stable and you are trying to eliminate possible problems. That 4x multi you are using just jumps out at me screaming PROBLEM.
reddywing1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 08:04 PM   #11
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
i tried asking about 3x htt... but he assured me
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 08:08 PM   #12
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
i still think he'll end up at with the same problem though.. you need more vdimm. 2.8 isnt enough to get it going that high..
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 08:13 PM   #13
OC-Master
Member

 
OC-Master's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme Barton
i still think he'll end up at with the same problem though.. you need more vdimm. 2.8 isnt enough to get it going that high..
That is correct,

Most PC4400 and PC4800 Dimms require 2.85v at stock. The OCZ PC4800 needs at least 2.85v to do 600MHz 2.5-4-4-10-1T.


OC-Master

__________________
RIG:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI | 1805:Bios
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ | 2733MHz
4.00GB OCZ PC3200 | 400MHz 2-3-2-5-2T
2.00TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (4X500)
1.00GB Radeon HD 4870 | CORE/MEM 790 / 3840
Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Platinum
OCZ 850Watt Xtreme PSU | MS Windows Vista Ultimate x64 Edition
Acer 26" Wide LCD 1920X1200 5ms | Sunbeam Fully Mod BlueUV Acrylic Case
OC-Master is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 08:22 PM   #14
reddywing1
Member

 
reddywing1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Santa Clara, Ca.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme Barton
i tried asking about 3x htt... but he assured me
I did see your earlier post and I saw his assurance.

The thing is, when nearing maximum performance a machine does not always behave to way we expect. I would just like to see him remove that variable while still experimenting with the o/c. If the o/c reaches a point where it is stable running 3x, he can always see if it stays stable at 4x. The actual HT is not that influential on overall performance anyway.
reddywing1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-05, 10:14 PM   #15
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
can you tell us how you tested for stability using 4x htt ??
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-05, 12:29 AM Thread Starter   #16
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme Barton
can you tell us how you tested for stability using 4x htt ??
Sure. I ran Prime95 for 21 hours without any errors at 325MHz with HTT at 4x. . .

By the way, I think I may have finally found the sweet spot for this RAM on my board . . .



It's overclocked to DDR612 at 3-3-3-5 2T. I still can't set it to 2.5-4-4-10 like it's rated at. I figure it's because I'm not able to run it at 2.85V like it's rated at.

But overall, I'm pretty happy with it.

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD

Last edited by Revivalist; 04-07-05 at 12:43 AM.
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-05, 12:39 AM   #17
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
if your satisfied than thats all that matters
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-05, 12:44 AM Thread Starter   #18
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
Thanks Xtreme.

I just tried running 3x HTT and the system crashed as soon as I set it to 305Mhz! But I'm actually not that surprised. I've heard of this happening to other people as well . . . here's an example.

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-05, 12:48 AM   #19
ocpinoy
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
wouldn't <DDR612 at 3-3-3-5> be faster then <DDR600 at 2.5-4-4-10>???

i'm pretty sure it is faster and better.. try running a memory benchmark "ie: sisoftsanrda or everest" at the same speeds with the same timings and since you can't hit 300 with the rated specs, try the same speeds at like 275mhz or something lower and compair the two results.
ocpinoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-05, 01:09 AM Thread Starter   #20
Revivalist
Member

 
Revivalist's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fresno, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocpinoy
wouldn't <DDR612 at 3-3-3-5> be faster then <DDR600 at 2.5-4-4-10>???

i'm pretty sure it is faster and better.. try running a memory benchmark "ie: sisoftsanrda or everest" at the same speeds with the same timings and since you can't hit 300 with the rated specs, try the same speeds at like 275mhz or something lower and compair the two results.
That's a good point. The fastest I can run 2.5-4-4-10 is at 285MHz and it doesn't score as high as DDR612 with 3-3-3-5. So I guess even though I can't run the rated speed, in the end things turned out better!

__________________
Opteron 185 (dual core) @ 2.80GHz --- DFI LanParty SLI-DR Expert @ 255MHz
2 x 1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC DDR510 (3-4-3-8, 1T) --- 4 x 160GB Raptors (RAID 0) & 750GB WD (backup)
Two EVGA 8800GTS 640MB in SLI @ 675MHz core, 1080MHz memory --- PCP&C 1000W
Water-cooling: BIX III radiator, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tygon tubes, 6 Panaflo 114CFM fans (in push-pull)
TEC-cooling: 245W-320W TEC in Maze4-1 CPU block, Meanwell 480W PSU
Thermaltake Armor+ case -- Hanns-G 25" 1080P LCD
Revivalist is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?