Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-05, 01:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
whozyodaddy
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

 
Unhappy Help


I've had this problem for ages. Whenever I right click something in explorer, whether it's an icon, folder, application, etc., sometimes it will display the window pane but most of the time it gives me this damn error:

Quote:
The instruction at "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx" referenced memory at "xxxxxxxxxxxx". The memory could not be "read".

Click on OK to terminate the program
Click on CANCEL to debug the program
And then I click OK and it quits that current window or completely restarts explorer.exe. Usually I am only able to right click on an open space, but not any icons. This is very annoying! Any solutions or reasons why?
whozyodaddy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 02:02 PM   #2
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Check your error logs, see what is in there. I suspect it is a memory (RAM) or pagefile error, perhaps some bad ram?

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 02:32 PM   #3
Helsyeah
Made the Cookies Crumble



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ID

10 Year Badge
 
it potentially could be a hardware incompatability error as well. I have had a similar problem on a non overclocked Dell machine and was able to track it down to a problem with the vid card and using two monitors...

__________________
heat________Fold on!

Folding User Stats
Helsyeah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 03:07 PM Thread Starter   #4
whozyodaddy
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

 
My current machine is a old P4 1.6ghz, 512mb, Dell Dimension 8200. So you guys are pretty sure it is a hardware error, not a software error?

Edit: How do I check my error logs?
whozyodaddy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 04:24 PM   #5
Helsyeah
Made the Cookies Crumble



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ID

10 Year Badge
 
If it is a dell then its harder to tell actually. One way to check is to do a reinstall of windows, if you have the option.

As for the error logs, ill assume that you are probably using windows xp, so check here for info on how to pull up the event error logs... (applies to both xp home and pro i believe)

__________________
heat________Fold on!

Folding User Stats
Helsyeah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 04:45 PM   #6
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
why not run check disk and defrag it first ?? then run memtest and check your pagefile settings .. if all else fails then do a re-install
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 05:06 PM   #7
Ven0m
Member

 
Ven0m's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warsaw, Poland

 
Sometimes that may indicate virus activity / damaged files, but most likely it's corrupted RAM / too high CPU OC.
Some applications aren't written well, so that may be simple software issue. For example Windows XP SP2 + Netlimiter combo sometimes caused such problems.
Ven0m is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-05, 05:47 PM Thread Starter   #8
whozyodaddy
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

 
Thanks. This system has never been overclocked. It is running Windows XP SP2. I don't think it is a virus issue, I ran Ad-Aware, Spybot, and Norton Antivirus.. still the same problem. I will download and run memtest.
whozyodaddy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-05, 03:00 AM   #9
Ven0m
Member

 
Ven0m's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warsaw, Poland

 
For testing mem, I'd rather recommend goldmem aka Golden Memory or ram testeer from Microsoft (a bootable disk as well). They seem to be more sensitivethan memtest86.
Ven0m is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-05, 01:38 PM   #10
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m
....They seem to be more sensitivethan memtest86....

an error is an error .. what do you mean by sensitive ??
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-05, 01:40 PM   #11
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
id stick to the widely used and now supported by some mobo manufactures .... "memtest86"
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?