• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel 640 Stability Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lutzy

Registered
Ok, so I've been running a very stable box at 245x16, but my temps were never really that high so I wanted to test higher OC's...

250x16 works pretty well, but if I go any higher than that I lose stability.

My question is (keep in mind I'm a big OC noob) why do I lose stability? Cause I don't think my CPU is getting that hot (as I've NEVER seen it throttle while logging with ThrottleWatch) but if I try to run two instances of Prime95 doing a 192K in place torture test, my machine restarts after like 30 minutes.

I have 1024 MB of Crucial DDR-400. I'm running it at a 5:4 ratio (which would be a slight overclock at anything above 250 FSB... Nothing huge at like 255 FSB though)

So yea, why am I not stable? Is there something other than heat that makes a system unstable? Is my RAM not capable of going a few MHz over 400? Do I need to up my VCore (I've been leaving it on "auto" in the BIOS)?

Throttlewatch reports my CPU voltage at an obviously incorrect 1.963
CPU-Z says I'm at 1.523
ASUS Probe says 1.36

I guess I should include some system specs
ASUS P5GDC-V Deluxe Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 640 with Zalman 7700CU with AS5
Radeon x800XL
Some optical drives and hard drives
A ThermalTake V5000A (Has a bunch of fans in it)
And a 500W Rosewill PSU (Has a whopping 34A on the 12V rail)

Again, my CPU has never reached a temp that TM1 kicked in and throttled it, so it's definitely not running too hot.

Thanks in advance for the help. --Lutzy

Lutzy said:
Do I need to up my VCore (I've been leaving it on "auto" in the BIOS)?