Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

P4 3.0E @ P4P800 Deluxe OC HELP!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-05, 12:45 AM Thread Starter   #1
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Unhappy P4 3.0E on ASUS P4P800 Deluxe OC HELP!!!


First post!

Been a fan of this forum for a while now, and I've been browsing through the site looking for answers for the longest time. Recently I upgraded from a 2.4C to a 3.0E and I ran into a bunch of problems with overheating and weird memory errors. My old 2.4C ran extremely stable at 3.0GHz for the longest time, but now I can't even overclock the 3.0E to more than 3.09GHz without it crashing or giving me a blank screen upon startup. I have tried tweaking with the memory settings, but have had difficulty understanding how the bottleneck of the 1:1 ratio occurs, and how a 5:4 ratio would be better. Also, after the upgrade, Counter-Strike Source is getting an average of 60FPS running 1680x1050. Used to be around 80-90FPS using the 2.4. Not sure what's going on, but any help would be great!


Here is my current hardware configuration:

ASUS Sonata Case 380W Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 Deluxe (BIOS 1019)
P4 3.0E 800 FSB 1MB HT (@ 3.0Ghz)
Thermalright XP-120 @ 120mm Panaflo L1A (Facing upward)
Corsair XMS PC3200 512x2 (TWINX1024-3200C2PT) (2-3-3-6)
BFG Geforce 6800 GT OC 256MB (Running Standard Shipped OC)
Audigy 2 Platinum
Maxtor ATA133 200GBx2

I have a total of 3 120mm fans,one for intake, one for exhaust, and one for the CPU.

Artic Silver 5 has been applied correctly on the CPU chip and heatsink.

Current IDLE Temp: 35C
CUrrent LOAD Temp: 41C


Current Stable BIOS Settings:

POST
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00Ghz
Speed: 3.00 GHz
DDR Frequency 400 Mhz, Dual-Channel, Linear

CONFIGURE SYSTEM FREQUENCY
AI Overclock Tuner: [MANUAL]
CPU External Frequency (Mhz):[200]
DRAM FREQUENCY:[AUTO]
AGP/PCI FREQUENCY (Mhz):[66.66/33.33]

CPU VCore Voltage:[AUTO]
DDR Reference Voltage:[AUTO]
AGP VDDQ Voltage:[1.50V]

Performance Mode:[AUTO]

ADVANCED CHIPSET SETTINGS
Configure DRAM Timings by SPD: [ENABLED]
Memory Acceleration Mode:[AUTO]
DRAM Idle Timer:[AUTO]
DRAM Refresh Rate:[AUTO]

Graphic Adapter Priority:[AGP/PCI]
Graphics Aperture Size:[128MB]
Spread Spectrum:[ENABLED]

ICH Delayed Transaction:[ENABLED]

MPS Revision:[1.4]


-------------------------------------------------------UPDATE-------------------------------------------------------

Current IDLE Temp: 38C
CUrrent LOAD Temp: 41C


Current Stable BIOS Settings:

POST
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00Ghz
Speed: 3.60 GHz
DDR Frequency 320 Mhz, Dual-Channel, Linear

CONFIGURE SYSTEM FREQUENCY
AI Overclock Tuner: [MANUAL]
CPU External Frequency (Mhz):[240]
DRAM FREQUENCY:[320]
AGP/PCI FREQUENCY (Mhz):[66.66/33.33]

CPU VCore Voltage:[AUTO]
DDR Reference Voltage:[AUTO]
AGP VDDQ Voltage:[1.50V]

Performance Mode:[TURBO]

ADVANCED CHIPSET SETTINGS
Configure DRAM Timings by SPD: [DISABLED]
DRAM CAS# Latency:[2.5 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# Precharge:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# To CAS# Delay:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM Precharge Delay:[6 CLOCKS]
DRAM Burst Length:[8 CLOCKS]

Memory Acceleration Mode:[AUTO]
DRAM Idle Timer:[AUTO]
DRAM Refresh Rate:[AUTO]

Graphic Adapter Priority:[AGP/PCI]
Graphics Aperture Size:[128MB]
Spread Spectrum:[DISABLED]

ICH Delayed Transaction:[DISABLED]

MPS Revision:[1.4]

For those who have the same hardware as me, these are my current rock solid settings. Anything else will shake it up or make it unstable, so feel free to message me if you try it yourself and find there's little modifications that give a little more ooomph.

Enjoy and happy overclocking!

Last edited by ekoshyun; 04-22-05 at 03:26 PM.
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 01:07 AM   #2
warlock110
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
if my 2.4A can do 3.8, then you should aim higher, 3.4ghz with that chip requires no effort, just loose the ram timing and up the FSB, you'll need about 225mhz on the ram, not sure if you can do that with value ram.

__________________
GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate
2 X 250GB Maxtor
1 X 160GB Seagate
1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
Creative Audigy 4 Pro
7600GS @ 550/420
TT Big Typhoon
warlock110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 03:51 AM Thread Starter   #3
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
My current ram has heatspreaders intended for overclocking. I'm just not sure if I should follow the manufacturer's suggested ram settings, or loosen them up to 3-4-4-6 or something.
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 11:15 AM   #4
warlock110
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
deffinitely loose up the timming, there is no way your ram can do 225mhz with tight timing.

__________________
GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate
2 X 250GB Maxtor
1 X 160GB Seagate
1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
Creative Audigy 4 Pro
7600GS @ 550/420
TT Big Typhoon
warlock110 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 08:44 PM   #5
boci3
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
your temps are ok i would recommend only overclocking with the bios and use the std memor timings in the bios do not use asus ai booster ect. also check if you have any software that may be causing a conflict with drivers or memory because it also sounds like that run the computer with o/c using bios and run windows on safe mode. run a clean bare bones system and go up from there until you find the faulty driver/software
boci3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 08:58 PM   #6
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
Pretty typical for a prescott user. My guess is that your PSU isnt up to snuff. You do realize that most guys using a 6800s have 500W+ psu right?
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 09:35 PM Thread Starter   #7
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Hmm... PSU is pretty quiet, that's why I like it. I can understand that power could be a problem, but I don't intend on overclocking it too much.

So what should my ram timings be? And should I set the DDR Frequency:[320] for the 5:4 ratio while I try to overclock? And when should I try making it a 1:1 ratio again -- let alone how?
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 12:40 AM   #8
nstabl
Member

 
nstabl's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Cali

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekoshyun
Hmm... PSU is pretty quiet, that's why I like it. I can understand that power could be a problem, but I don't intend on overclocking it too much.

So what should my ram timings be? And should I set the DDR Frequency:[320] for the 5:4 ratio while I try to overclock? And when should I try making it a 1:1 ratio again -- let alone how?
you came in at a good time. i have the same proc as you n werkn on some mad oc`ing--- in progress and wc`ing is in the mail, literally. also here is a setup very similar to ours-- http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=380373 what is the speed ur trying to get to?

__________________
ABIT IC7-G Burned Out, RIP 6-13-05 to 12-1-2005 :cry:
**STILL werkn on the oc like a mad scientist**
ASUS P4P800-E/P4 3.0e@4.0/VCore@1.48/FSB@267
2x512OCZgoldDC4000REV2/6800GtOc256@427/1.15
Supafly Swiftec WaterCooled. 100+ CFM (Way too loud.)
This is my site.
nstabl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 03:45 PM   #9
Dcasole
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dacula, GA

 
ekoshyun

Quote:
Hmm... PSU is pretty quiet, that's why I like it. I can understand that power could be a problem, but I don't intend on overclocking it too much.
what are your PSU specs in Amps on the 12v rail ?
Prescotts are power hungry hogs and need at least 22-24 amps to run stable

Do a seach of this forum and you will see many posts from people posting problems just like yours that were solved by upgrading the PSU

you will also see a few where people have " Smoked" their processors( and some motherboards) trying to use an undersized unit

Good Luck

Dave

__________________
E6400 Core Duo (overclocked to 2.7)
EGVA 680 LT SLI Motherboard
BFG NVida 7950 GT OC 512MB
2 GIG OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Performance Platinum Edition
Sound Blaster Audigy
TDK CDRW, Sony DVD Writer
2-80 gig WD 7,200 RPM
1-320 gig Seagate 7,200 RPM
BFG PSU 800W
+3.3V=24A +5V=30A +12V1=20A +12V2=20A
Acer 22" Wide screen
Windows XP PRO (SP2)[/COLOR][SIZE=3]
Dcasole is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 11:07 PM Thread Starter   #10
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
I'm not aiming for anything crazy, simpy put I just want to hit 3.6Ghz and then take a chill pill.

From a previous post: http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=380373
Sipher quotes: "fsb is 267@15x multi voltage is 1.5375 mem dividers are at 5:4@ 2.6 volts agp locked@66/33."

2.6volts for AGP? Isn't that alot for a GT? (I currently have the BFG OC 6800 GT with the two LED fans running at [AUTO] Voltage])

And can anyone please confirm that setting DRAM Freq. to [320] is creating the [5:4] ratio? And if that is recommended over the [1:1] ratio? I've heard arguments that one is better than the other in different cases, but what is good for a normal computer that balances both gaming, entertainment, and applications such as photoshop?

Thanks for the help so far guys! I'm in luck that I found people with the same motherboard as mine!

PS: Recently I ran into this Checking NVRAM.. delay during boot, and I have contacted ASUS and they have said I might have to RMA my board. Should I go through with overclocking it or wait for the RMA to come back? Hell, what do they do when they RMA it anyway? I got a broken AGP lock slot--are they gonna replace that too?
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 12:27 AM   #11
Dcasole
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dacula, GA

 
Quote:
And can anyone please confirm that setting DRAM Freq. to [320] is creating the [5:4] ratio?
Yes this is 5:4

Quote:
And can anyone please confirm that setting DRAM Freq. to [320] is creating the [5:4] ratio? And if that is recommended over the [1:1] ratio? I've heard arguments that one is better than the other in different cases, but what is good for a normal computer that balances both gaming, entertainment, and applications such as photoshop?
The slowdown in memory bandwith should be more than made up by being able to run the higher FSB for normal applications ( your milage may vary )

Dave

__________________
E6400 Core Duo (overclocked to 2.7)
EGVA 680 LT SLI Motherboard
BFG NVida 7950 GT OC 512MB
2 GIG OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Performance Platinum Edition
Sound Blaster Audigy
TDK CDRW, Sony DVD Writer
2-80 gig WD 7,200 RPM
1-320 gig Seagate 7,200 RPM
BFG PSU 800W
+3.3V=24A +5V=30A +12V1=20A +12V2=20A
Acer 22" Wide screen
Windows XP PRO (SP2)[/COLOR][SIZE=3]
Dcasole is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 02:51 AM Thread Starter   #12
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dcasole
Yes this is 5:4



The slowdown in memory bandwith should be more than made up by being able to run the higher FSB for normal applications ( your milage may vary )

Dave
Thanks for the quick reply Dcasole. Was wondering how many volts your AGP card was running at?
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 03:07 AM   #13
DaveMan
Member

 
DaveMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US West

 
Wow im supprised that antec 380 could even run stock of all that hardware you had. You really should think about upgradeing that, im sure that PSU isnt gunna last forever, and when it goes, you dont want it takeing everything els with it.
DaveMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 05:55 PM   #14
Dcasole
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dacula, GA

 
Quote:
Was wondering how many volts your AGP card was running at?
1.5V

Dave

__________________
E6400 Core Duo (overclocked to 2.7)
EGVA 680 LT SLI Motherboard
BFG NVida 7950 GT OC 512MB
2 GIG OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Performance Platinum Edition
Sound Blaster Audigy
TDK CDRW, Sony DVD Writer
2-80 gig WD 7,200 RPM
1-320 gig Seagate 7,200 RPM
BFG PSU 800W
+3.3V=24A +5V=30A +12V1=20A +12V2=20A
Acer 22" Wide screen
Windows XP PRO (SP2)[/COLOR][SIZE=3]
Dcasole is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 02:58 AM Thread Starter   #15
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Current IDLE Temp: 41C
CUrrent LOAD Temp: 46C


Current Stable BIOS Settings:

POST
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00Ghz
Speed: 3.52 GHz
DDR Frequency 400 Mhz, Dual-Channel, Linear

CONFIGURE SYSTEM FREQUENCY
AI Overclock Tuner: [MANUAL]
CPU External Frequency (Mhz):[235]
DRAM FREQUENCY:[320]
AGP/PCI FREQUENCY (Mhz):[66.66/33.33]

CPU VCore Voltage:[AUTO]
DDR Reference Voltage:[AUTO]
AGP VDDQ Voltage:[1.50V]

Performance Mode:[TURBO]

ADVANCED CHIPSET SETTINGS
Configure DRAM Timings by SPD: [DISABLED]
DRAM CAS# Latency:[2.5 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# Precharge:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# To CAS# Delay:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM Precharge Delay:[6 CLOCKS]
DRAM Burst Length:[8 CLOCKS]

Memory Acceleration Mode:[AUTO]
DRAM Idle Timer:[AUTO]
DRAM Refresh Rate:[AUTO]

Graphic Adapter Priority:[AGP/PCI]
Graphics Aperture Size:[128MB]
Spread Spectrum:[DISABLED]

ICH Delayed Transaction:[ENABLED]

MPS Revision:[1.4]

I'm still a bit iffy about the ram settings and if Memory Acceleration Mode should be on or off? And should I set a CPU voltage?
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 09:22 AM   #16
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
turn off MAM and turbo performance mode for now... keep bumping up the FSB..

and loosen the timings to 3-4-4-8-4, the burst length is opposite the latency timings (bigger is better, unlike latency, where smaller is better)

bump up the AGP voltage to 1.8, and the vdimm voltage to 2.85... now start bumping up the FSB for a while...


but really, get a new PSU, you are gonna mess SOMETHING up with that PSU...

I would reccommend a fortron AX500-A (Blue Storm 500W)... $72 shipped at eWiz.com

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 09:56 AM   #17
Blkout
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMan
Wow im supprised that antec 380 could even run stock of all that hardware you had. You really should think about upgradeing that, im sure that PSU isnt gunna last forever, and when it goes, you dont want it takeing everything els with it.

Antec's are underrated on this message board. They are built tough.
Blkout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 12:55 PM Thread Starter   #18
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Antec's aren't the worst power supplies. I enjoy this one because it's extremely quiet, but the fans on the videocard and case usually overkill it with noise anyway -- what would be a good QUIET 500W power supply?

And I've never changed power supplies before -- do I just unscrew it and take it out?
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 01:00 PM Thread Starter   #19
ekoshyun
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Current IDLE Temp: 40C
CUrrent LOAD Temp: 45C


Current Stable BIOS Settings:

POST
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00Ghz
Speed: 3.60 GHz
DDR Frequency 400 Mhz, Dual-Channel, Linear

CONFIGURE SYSTEM FREQUENCY
AI Overclock Tuner: [MANUAL]
CPU External Frequency (Mhz):[240]
DRAM FREQUENCY:[320]
AGP/PCI FREQUENCY (Mhz):[66.66/33.33]

CPU VCore Voltage:[AUTO]
DDR Reference Voltage:[AUTO]
AGP VDDQ Voltage:[1.50V]

Performance Mode:[TURBO]

ADVANCED CHIPSET SETTINGS
Configure DRAM Timings by SPD: [DISABLED]
DRAM CAS# Latency:[2.5 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# Precharge:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# To CAS# Delay:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM Precharge Delay:[6 CLOCKS]
DRAM Burst Length:[8 CLOCKS]

Memory Acceleration Mode:[AUTO]
DRAM Idle Timer:[AUTO]
DRAM Refresh Rate:[AUTO]

Graphic Adapter Priority:[AGP/PCI]
Graphics Aperture Size:[128MB]
Spread Spectrum:[DISABLED]

ICH Delayed Transaction:[ENABLED]

MPS Revision:[1.4]

Just my current settings, I'll go change the voltages higher once I find a stronger power supply.

Anyway, about at what point should I start tightening up my RAM timings? Or should I just leave it as is?
ekoshyun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 01:12 PM   #20
MrCooper
Member

 
MrCooper's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Here's a few settings you can change for faster performance.


CONFIGURE SYSTEM FREQUENCY
AI Overclock Tuner: [MANUAL]
CPU External Frequency (Mhz):[240]----->250
DRAM FREQUENCY:[320]---->400
AGP/PCI FREQUENCY (Mhz):[66.66/33.33]

CPU VCore Voltage:[AUTO]------>1.40V
DDR Reference Voltage:[AUTO]----->2.85V
AGP VDDQ Voltage:[1.50V]---->1.60V

Performance Mode:[TURBO]

ADVANCED CHIPSET SETTINGS
Configure DRAM Timings by SPD: [DISABLED]
DRAM CAS# Latency:[2.5 CLOCKS]----->3
DRAM RAS# Precharge:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM RAS# To CAS# Delay:[3 CLOCKS]
DRAM Precharge Delay:[6 CLOCKS]
DRAM Burst Length:[8 CLOCKS]

Memory Acceleration Mode:[AUTO]--->Enabled
DRAM Idle Timer:[AUTO]------>Infinite
DRAM Refresh Rate:[AUTO]------>15.6uSec

Graphic Adapter Priority:[AGP/PCI]
Graphics Aperture Size:[128MB]
Spread Spectrum:[DISABLED]

ICH Delayed Transaction:[ENABLED]----->Disabled

MPS Revision:[1.4]

That should make'm go faster from your current config. Just Vcore for more volts if it reboots or set your ram timings to 3-4-4-8
MrCooper is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?