Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Can't here BIOS error codes, no spkr, help!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-05, 01:18 AM Thread Starter   #1
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
Can't here BIOS error codes, no spkr, help!


It would appear that the case I bought has no internal speaker hook up to go to the mobo. As such, I can't hear any BIOS beeps that normally come out of the case. How can I fix this? (Other than getting a new case.) It's fairly important as I bought an NF7-S v2 from a member here and this is the first time trying to fire it up. Unfortunately the screen stays blank and says it's not getting anything... (Fans all spin up inside though.) Naturally I'm curious as to why it's not booting.

Thanks

Edit: Can't *hear* It's late... I need to go to bed.

Last edited by TehGoober; 04-14-05 at 01:31 AM.
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-14-05, 11:55 AM Thread Starter   #2
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
As an aside, I was able to put this computer side by side with my other one and take it's case speaker and plug it into this board. No beeps. (So it's not evening POSTing?) I'm not sure whether or not it needs more than just the speaker plug to be connected to beep though.
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 03:40 PM   #3
lithker
Member



Join Date: Jun 2004

 
have u tried holding the insert key through a few boots? always helps me to post

__________________
Abit NF7-S Rev. 2 BIOS MantRays XT CPC on
Athlon XP 2500+ 8x 228 1.45v
EVGA 6800 GT 425/1.1
AquaXtreme 50Z-DC12, Apogee, fedco 2-342 hc, maze4.
ballistix PC4000 2.5-2-2-11 1T at 2.8v
Tagan 480w
lithker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 05:39 PM Thread Starter   #4
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
I've held down the delete key, as that's what is used to get into BIOS. I'll try the insert key sometime tonight after I get home from work though. (Either way, I would have thought that the other case would have made some sort of beeping sound when I plugged it into the mobo and powered on.)
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 06:35 PM   #5
Saruji
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Insert key would do the trick for reseting the bios, but that isnt your problem, you need to make sure everything during the install of the mobo wasnt missed. Last time I had this same problem and it turned out my cpu was dead. That mobo should be working, make sure that the cmos jumper is set to the bottom two of the three pins and double check your ram and cpu. Also one other thing this could be (other then mobo) is your PSU, try to connect that to another system and boot. Also you do have the 4 pin power plugged in right?

Saruji
Saruji is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 11:02 PM Thread Starter   #6
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
I've tried it with a different PSU that worked in an identical system. No go. Although now, after switching back, it does begin to power on (not POST) and then shuts off right away... I'm sure that's not good.
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 02:31 AM   #7
Saruji
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Check for burn marks on the motherboard, if there are none, then i dont know static electricity maybe? is the only thing I can think of. If your getting power and then no go, i'd say that something is up, i know 90 % of these type of issues are because of PSU. Well either way, if you feel you've done all you can you can ship it back to me with insurance. Pm me for addy. Sorry that this happend
Saruji is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 09:33 AM   #8
mudpark41
Member

 
mudpark41's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York

 
That quick turn on and shut down happens to me when I am resetting my BIOS and leave the jumper in the wrong position and power on the system. It does not post just turns on and off.

__________________

Main Rig: AMD Opteron 165 (CCBWE) (2.65ghz) (295 x 9) | Thermalright XP-120 | Sunon 110 cfm
DFI UT LanParty nf4-D | Antec Preformance PlusView Full ATX Case | Hitachi 160 gigabyte Serial-Ata
eVGA 7800 gt PCI-E | Intel P4 Xeon U1 VGA Cooler (Diehrd) | Zalman 5.1 Real Surround Headphones
G.Skill Value 1gb DDR Ram (2-3-3-8) | Ocz 520 watt Modstream Sli PSU

Seconday Rig:AMD 2600+ M (IQYHA) (2.4ghz) (240 x 10) | Thermalright Sp-97
Thermaltake SmartFan II | Abit Nf7-S 2.0 (Merlin D27 BIOS) | Generic X-Case
Hitachi 80 gigabyte Serial-Ata in Raid 0 (readburst = 111meg/s)
Msi 6600GT AGP | Zalman Vf700-Cu VGA Cooler | Sicuro 5.1 Gaming Surround Speakers
Ultra Overclocking 512 DDR Ram | Antec 400 watt Smart Power PSU
mudpark41 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 12:10 PM Thread Starter   #9
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
Jumper has been checked already. Any other ideas?
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 04:19 PM   #10
Saruji
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Yes, I bet your getting grounded somewhere, take the mobo out and set it up on a wooden table with a static protection bag, plug in video card and psu, and start up.
Saruji is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 02:02 PM Thread Starter   #11
TehGoober
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
Tried taking the mobo out and setting it on an anti-static bag. No go.
TehGoober is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?