Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Doom 3 ROE

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-05, 05:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
13oots2
Senior Member

 
13oots2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Dorchester UK

 
Doom 3 ROE


I have always supported game developement, but am really annoyed about the cost of Resurrection Of Evil. It seems that the retail cost of the addon is as much as the original Doom 3 cost. Yet the same engine is used and there is only one disk supplied. perhaps I am being a little cynical, but I have the suspision that ID are cashing in on the original Doom 3.

__________________
Asus P5W64WS PRO E6600@3612Mhz Stock Voltage
CellShock PC8000DDR2 CAS 4 Freezer Pro
BFG Geforce 8800GTX
XFI Extreme Music
WD Raptor 36Gb,Maxtor 120Gb,Maxtor 320Gb All Sata
Lian LI V2000, Enermax Galaxy 850W
13oots2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 06:15 AM   #2
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
probably. However a decent game nowadays takes a budget similar to a small hollywood movie. the GREAT games almost ALWAYS (there are exceptions) require budgets in the range of mega-movie hits. Factor in games sell less than movies, they have to recoup the cost, so the jack up the price, even for expansions.

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 06:17 AM   #3
Vertical_Zer0
Member

 
Vertical_Zer0's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TollhouseFrank
probably. However a decent game nowadays takes a budget similar to a small hollywood movie. the GREAT games almost ALWAYS (there are exceptions) require budgets in the range of mega-movie hits. Factor in games sell less than movies, they have to recoup the cost, so the jack up the price, even for expansions.
Actually I heard recently that gaming sold about $2 billion more than movies this year. I don't think that includes DVD purchases, though.

In any case, yes production costs are going through the roof. There is a LOT of stuff involved in making a game these days.

__________________
My systems:

Intel Core 2 Duo e6420 topped by Thermalright Ultra-120, 2GB Transcend DDR800, 320GB Seagate Barracuda SATA II 16MB cache HD, 250GB WD IDE HD, 200GB Maxtor IDE HD, Lian-Li PC-7B case, EVGA nVidia GeForce 8800GTS 320MB

AMD Athlon XP 2500+ @2200mHz, 1024 MB PC3200 RAM, 80GB Maxtor HD, 20GB Western Digital HD, AGP nVidia 6600GT, MSI K7N2 Delta, Custom Modded Case

FOLD for Team 32!
Vertical_Zer0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 08:55 AM   #4
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13oots2
I have always supported game developement, but am really annoyed about the cost of Resurrection Of Evil. It seems that the retail cost of the addon is as much as the original Doom 3 cost. Yet the same engine is used and there is only one disk supplied. perhaps I am being a little cynical, but I have the suspision that ID are cashing in on the original Doom 3.
It was half the price of a regular game for me and it came with a bonus copy of Doom3, which is still in the box, cause I already have one.

I dont know their contract with activision, but it could have been something that activision wanted.

And it doesn't have to be alot of CDs. Its a expansion pack, so you just add new stuff, and you use the stuff from the original (textures, sounds, models, stuff like that).

I like it sofar quite a bit. If you dont like the price, hold off for abit. I do that alot with games, wait till they hit the 20 dollar mark then snatch them.
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 07:52 PM   #5
Vertical_Zer0
Member

 
Vertical_Zer0's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA

 
I got mine for $25... Circuit City had it on sale so I took it to Best Buy and got myself a pricematch and -10%

__________________
My systems:

Intel Core 2 Duo e6420 topped by Thermalright Ultra-120, 2GB Transcend DDR800, 320GB Seagate Barracuda SATA II 16MB cache HD, 250GB WD IDE HD, 200GB Maxtor IDE HD, Lian-Li PC-7B case, EVGA nVidia GeForce 8800GTS 320MB

AMD Athlon XP 2500+ @2200mHz, 1024 MB PC3200 RAM, 80GB Maxtor HD, 20GB Western Digital HD, AGP nVidia 6600GT, MSI K7N2 Delta, Custom Modded Case

FOLD for Team 32!
Vertical_Zer0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 09:16 PM   #6
TheGreySpectre
Member

 
TheGreySpectre's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TollhouseFrank
probably. However a decent game nowadays takes a budget similar to a small hollywood movie. the GREAT games almost ALWAYS (there are exceptions) require budgets in the range of mega-movie hits. Factor in games sell less than movies, they have to recoup the cost, so the jack up the price, even for expansions.

are you sure, i thought big budget for games is about 80 million, where as big budget for movies is about 150-250 million

__________________
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9300 w 6800go and 1.2 gigs of ram
Desktop: intel i7-3770, 16Gb Ram, Radeon 7970, 18.5 Tb HD space, Dell 3008 WFP 30"
TheGreySpectre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 09:56 PM   #7
chris64
Disabled

 
chris64's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: earth

 
still playin, for some reason it seems harder to play on my system than the orignal doom 3 game. Def way more action packed.
chris64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 05:45 AM   #8
Gabber359
Member

 
Gabber359's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands

10 Year Badge
 
IMO they are just trying to screw over the end-user (us). Doom 3 ROE costs 39,99 Euro over here. The original Doom 3? 35 Euro. Lol? No way in hell am I going to pay more for an add-on then the original game. If RoE was 30 Euro or less, I would buy it.

On another note, yes new games such as D3 and BF2 probably do cost a lot to make in this day and age, but we are talking about add-ons. It's not a stand-alone. It doesn't require a whole new engine to implement. All you need is 1) story line (not that hard with Doom, eh?) 2) 1-2 more weapons (gee double-barreled shotgun....woopie :P) 3) new levels.

__________________
Even Older Rig 2001: Scaleo 600 Case, Forton 250W, AMD 2100 XP Palomino, KT7266 Pro 2 mobo, 2x512mb PC2100, WD 80gb7200rpm, GF4 MX 440 64mb, SoundBlaster Live 5.1!, 19" Scaleo C994 monitor, Logitech MX500 mouse

Old Rig 2005-2008
Antec 1000AMG, OCZ Powerstream 520W, Gigabyte P35-DS3 v1.0, Intel Q6600@2.4GHz, Thermalright Ultra X Heatsink+120mm Panaflo fan, 2x 1GB GSkill DDR2 800 MHz@ 4-4-4-12 + 2x 2GB Corsair DDR2 800MHz@4-4-4-12, ASUS 8800GTS 640, Intel X25-V 40GB SSD, WD 600GB V-Raptor, WD Caviar 200GB, SB Audigy 2 ZS, IceMat 2nd Ed. Blue, Logitech MX518, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Digital, Senheiser PC150

New Laptop 2012:
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=718295
Gabber359 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 12:23 AM   #9
fuzzba11
Member

 
fuzzba11's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in the garage

 
I got mine for $30 at GameStop, I was pretty pleased with the price. It's be a miracle if they don't charge $50 for the HL2 expansion.
fuzzba11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 09:34 AM   #10
gravitywell
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cumberland, MD

10 Year Badge
 
I'm not sure where you guys shop, but Target sells the expansion for $35 everyday.

If you pay more than that for it, well...maybe you deserve to lose that extra 15-20 bucks.

__________________
Intel Core i7-4790K
Noctua NH-D14
MSI Z97-GAMING 5
G.Skill Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2133
Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
MSI GeForce GTX 780 Ti 3GB TWIN FROZR
NZXT H440
Corsair HX750
Corsair AF140 Quiet Edition
gravitywell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 11:34 AM   #11
asm8001
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
$23 at frys!! now that was a steal!
asm8001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?