Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Vsync

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-05, 03:33 PM Thread Starter   #1
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
Vsync


What is vsync? and should it be on or off?

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 03:52 PM   #2
apu318
Disabled

 
apu318's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.

 
Vsync limits the framerate in 3D applications to your refresh rate.
Let's say youre playing Counter-Strike 1.6 with your 9700pro on 800x600, opengl on normal settings.
Situation 1: Vsync Off, Refresh rate @ 85hz, Counter-Strike FPS is 99fps
Situation 2: Vsync On, Refresh rate @ 85hz, Counter-Strike FPS is 85fps, no higher.

Now why would you wanna limit your fps? Because it gets rid of tearing! Tearing is when you move in a game or 3D app or something, and you can see lines that kind of look like the image was shifted. This happens because you have a higher fps than the monitor can refresh. If you turn Vsync on, you wont get higher fps than your framerate, so it can keep up. There will be no tearing and it will look perfectly smooth.
apu318 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 08:38 PM Thread Starter   #3
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
ok thanks, no wonder i was getting a horizontal line across my screen sometimes in Pro Evolution soccer 4

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-05, 03:43 PM Thread Starter   #4
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
Hmmm i'm still getting a horizontal line across my screen in pro evo soccer 4. Even though I turned vsync "always on"......

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-05, 10:32 PM   #5
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
I prefer vsync off, but then, I'm just wierd.

Ohh, and if your card can't do, say, 85fps @ 85hz, it will drop down to a locked 42.5fps, which is a lot less enjoyable.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 07:29 AM   #6
False Christian
Member

 
False Christian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Smile


I use vsync for older games that will run at 1600x1200 at over 113 fps. For newer games where you don't average at least 113 fps leave vsync off. This is especially noticable in a game like Doom3. I get 73.4 fps at 1600x1200 with no AA or AF and with vsync on I only get 53 fps. I hope this helps you. Take care.

__________________
---Asus P8Z68-V\GEN3 (supports i7-3770K)---i5 2500K at 4.738GHz at 1.425v
---8GB Kingston ValueRam DDR3-1333MHz at 1648MHz 1.65v
---2x eVGA GeForce GTX 760 2GB SLI (1212/7600) ACX Coolers
---5 80mm fans---3 TB external SG hard-drive USB 3.0
---
RealTek on-board sound (not bad!)---onboard Gigabit ethernet
---2TB SG(7200)---320GB SATA3 SG (7200)(Dual-booting Windows XP Pro SP3)
---16x/48x LG DVD-R/RW 16x/48x LG-DVD-ROM---
---22" Samsung 2253BW LCD (1680x1050)
---Windows 7 HP 64-bit (SP1)
---3Dmark Vantage: 63477
False Christian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 09:44 PM   #7
l3ored
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuriman
I prefer vsync off, but then, I'm just wierd.

Ohh, and if your card can't do, say, 85fps @ 85hz, it will drop down to a locked 42.5fps, which is a lot less enjoyable.
i think you're wrong there. i'm pretty sure it only caps it at the monitors refresh rate. i leave vsync on if its an in game option.
l3ored is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 10:58 PM   #8
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
My friend and I did some tests in a number of direct3d games, and with double buffering, it drops the framerate limit to 1/2 your refresh rate if you cant keep a steady 85fps(at 85hz). In opengl, you can enable tripple buffering which allows a few values in between.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 11:40 PM Thread Starter   #9
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
So any ideas why i still get tearing with vsync ON ?

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-05, 09:25 PM Thread Starter   #10
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
Hellooooooooo??????????????????????????

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-05, 12:03 AM   #11
gvblake22
Member

 
gvblake22's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tempe Desert

 
Is your card overclocked? Are you sure it is stable? Is it overheating and causing minor problems?

You could try backing your overclock down or putting it back to stock to see if it helps.

__________________
|| Intel E8400 @ 400x8 + Coolink U8-120 || MSI P35 Neo2-FR || 2x1GB SuperTalent DDR2 800 (4-4-3-8) || Asus HD 4850 + Accelero S1 & Turbo Module || Auzentech HDA Xplosion || 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 || 150GB Western Digital Raptor X || Corsair VX550 PSU ||
Mod Projects:
|| My First Custom Modded Case || Custom HDD Cooling/Silencing || Custom 6800GT Cooling || Custom Modded CoolerMaster Cavalier 3 || Blue Flame PS2 Stand || "Secret of the Ooze" Case Project ||
|| Heatware ||
Say Thank You!
gvblake22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-05, 09:23 AM Thread Starter   #12
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
i forgot to mention that my card is an x800........i just havent changed it in my sig yet....but i still had the problem with the 9700pro. It is NOT overclocked, its at stock speeds.....and the graphics are great except in pro evo soccer 4, i get a line across the screen often even with vsync on. Tried different driver versions but still same.

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?