Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

how well can a ti4200 play HL2?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-05, 05:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
how well can a ti4200 play HL2?


im upgrading my buddy's system and ill oc it for him
its an athlon 850 will be ocd to 1.1ghz or so
256 mb ram
and he's lookin for a decent card under 70 bux, tho the cheaper the better.
i think a 64 meg refurb ti4200 fro 31 bux would work nicely.
how well would it handle hl2 tho?

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 07:29 PM   #2
NEWROOSTER
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
well the best bang for the low buck card ive found "doing bottom line prices for peeps" is a abit 9550,there around 70 bucks at newegg http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...123-147&depa=0 this one ,looks like there outta stock right now though, i had a ti4200 128 meg over clocked from 250/512 to 290/ 585 and this card blew mine out at stock speeds ,i scored 1900 on 3D03 and it scored 2300 on 3D03 at stock speeds
NEWROOSTER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 09:56 PM   #3
phantom punisher
Member

 
phantom punisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: fort drum NY

 
ti4200 is what i use to play hl2. it can run fine frame rates at 1024x768 but with all the pretty turned off. the thing to look for in cheap cards is that some low end dx9 cards are terrible and when you force hl2 to dx8 to get some decent frame rates...the native dx8 cards are better at it. my freind had a fx5200 and it was awful. he wished he had kept his ti4400.

i think pny had a ti4200 refurb for $20?
in any case dont pay much for a ti and theres probly some better bang for the buck out there at a $70 level

edit: just noticed the cpu you guys will be using. i figure its probly my p4 at 3.1 that alows me to use such an old card with ok fps. slow gpu and cpu may be too little to run hl2 nicely

Last edited by phantom punisher; 04-14-05 at 09:58 PM. Reason: more info
phantom punisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-05, 11:29 PM   #4
matttheniceguy
Member

 
matttheniceguy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver Canada

 
considering the CPU I wouldn't waste too much money on a videocard. See if PNY still has those TI4200's for $20 (arn't you one of the lucky #*%(^$ who got one of those 6800U's for $260 in the same refurb blowout?) If those arn't still around that $30 Ti4200 will be fine. Your going to be highly CPU limited with any card better than these in HL2 so there is no real point. I'm not sure how "playable" HL2 will be though, you will probably have to drop down to 800*600 or something to get good framerates.
matttheniceguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 11:50 AM   #5
genjaguar
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
I played CS:S on my old computer without much problems at 1024x768(lower details of course).

My old comp was
Athlon xp 2000
512 pc2700 Ram
geforce3 ti200

As you can see this is a pretty crappy comp now and yet it managed to run HL2 fine at 1024x768(usually 30-40 fps). I'm sure a ti4200 will be quite a bit better.
genjaguar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 12:13 PM   #6
consumer9000
Former STASIS Guy



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA

 
It'll load.

30-40 fps is not considered playable by most CS players standards. LOL

To have a reasonable experience you problem would be best served by a Geforce 6200 or better.

__________________
[un]Productivity System:
-Lian Li V1200B Plus & TR-3 Fanbus
-Swiftech APEX Watercooling / STORM Waterblock
-PC Power & Cooling TurboCool 510 SLI
-Asus A8N32 nForce4 SLIx16 Deluxe
-AMD Athlon64 X2 4400+ (2600MHz "10*260")
-2GB Corsair ProSeries XMS3500 (1T/CAS 2-3-3-6)
-XFX 7800GTX Extreme Edition (520/1360)
Cooled with STASIS IceStorm NV7800C5
-(2) WD CaviarSE 250GB SATA3G 16MB in RAID0
-Creative X-Fi Platinum / ATI TV Wonder 550Pro
-Plextor PX-716AL Slot Loading 16X DVD+RW DL
-Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 / Monster XPHP CL3 Cables
-Dell 2005FPW LCD / Monster M500 DVI Cable
consumer9000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 02:29 PM   #7
shellshock
Member

 
shellshock's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Claremore Oklahoma

 
Well, I wouldnt pay too much for a vcard with that CPU, its just gonna bottleneck and you wont get the full preformance out of the card

__________________
Heatware
Ocforums metal club member #690
Folding for Team 32!
shellshock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 05:31 PM   #8
Zulu-1
Member

 
Zulu-1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brampton, Ontario

 
ive found, and heard that the source engine is much more cpu hungry than gpu

__________________
THE BEAST: :mad:
Athlon64 2800+
Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu w/ AS5
Chaintech VNF3-250 ~Nforce3 250~
Connect3D Radeon X800 Pro
1GB OCZ Premier
ThermalTake 420W PurePower
I am 49% addicted to Counterstrike.
Heat 2-0-0

CanadaLAN 2.0?
EA [Teamkilled] PC Gaming
Zulu-1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 05:52 PM   #9
matttheniceguy
Member

 
matttheniceguy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zulu-1
ive found, and heard that the source engine is much more cpu hungry than gpu
Very true. If you look at benchmarks for the game they are almost always CPU limited. Different videocards will come out with similar framerates with AA and other stuff turned off or at low resolutions.
matttheniceguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-05, 05:57 PM   #10
uzibear
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
best bang for buck is EASILY refurb geforce 6600. $65 man. same as a radeon 9600 refurb. if you can swing it; go s939 w/pci-express
uzibear is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?