Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

6600gt seriously low 3dmark score

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-05, 06:28 PM Thread Starter   #1
The_Silpheed
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
6600gt seriously low 3dmark score


I've just bought a new XFX geforce 6600gt with 128mb gddr3, and I've noticed that it doesnt seem to be running as well as other people have reported on the net. It scored 1138 in 3dmark03 and I couldnt even be bothered to let 3dmark05 finish because it was getting 3 fps max.

oddly though, it seems fairly good when playing games, on half life 2 I can have all settings on max and 2xAA 4xAF on 1024-768 without much slowdown in busy areas. I do not think it is my hardware that is slowing it down either (athlon xp 3000+, 1gb ddr 333, 550w switching psu) because a radeon 9800pro 128mb I tested for a friend very recently ran very fast and got over 5000 on 3dmark03.

I've tried lots of drivers including omega and nvidia-beta drivers but none of them seem to improve performance. another interesting thing is that the temp guage reads 234C no matter what driver I use. Has anyone else had problems like these? could someone please shed some light on this mystery? thanks in advance.
The_Silpheed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 06:48 PM   #2
CCUABIDExORxDIE
Member

 
CCUABIDExORxDIE's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Keystone Lightville, MA

 
use a driver remover. it sounds like theres some old ati residue left from those old ati drivers
CCUABIDExORxDIE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 07:04 PM   #3
tytlyf
Disabled

 
tytlyf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal

 
It might be your processor. Seems like your vid card runs fine, but doesn't perform when bench utilities are used because they stress the cpu as well. Try installing other drivers for your video card as well.
tytlyf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 07:08 PM   #4
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
are you sure the fan is running?? 234c???

those are seriously low numbers.

run drivercleaner in safe mode.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-05, 10:23 PM   #5
WingsofGOD
Member

 
WingsofGOD's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Quote:
It might be your processor. Seems like your vid card runs fine, but doesn't perform when bench utilities are used because they stress the cpu as well. Try installing other drivers for your video card as well.
But scoring 1000? I have a hard time believing that this setup would score so low...
WingsofGOD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 01:52 PM   #6
stratcatprowlin
Senior Member

 
stratcatprowlin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MG,Brazil

 
Reinstall your motherboard chipset drivers. You may be in pci mode. As far as running 200C? Definitely use driver cleaner like suggested above and try the newest Nvidia 71.89 drivers.
stratcatprowlin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-05, 10:20 PM   #7
anwar1337
Member



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
My old rig was worse and got 2030 in 03, it was a 2400+ with a gf3ti200

__________________
ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5
anwar1337 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-05, 04:19 PM Thread Starter   #8
The_Silpheed
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
hmm, I took it back coz it was probably faulty, but I realised I'd never been in the 6600's bios. All my old cards never had bioses. Do you think it might have been set up wrong in there?
The_Silpheed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-05, 04:22 PM   #9
stratcatprowlin
Senior Member

 
stratcatprowlin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MG,Brazil

 
Every card has a bios as far as I know.
Well if you returned it no use in worrying about it now.What card did you replace it with?
stratcatprowlin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 04:20 PM Thread Starter   #10
The_Silpheed
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
Really? the 6600GT I had was the first card I ever had that had a bios that showed up before my motherboard bios, how are you supposed to enter control centre?
Anyway I'm gonna get a bog-standard 6800 and i'm hoping the pipelines will not be damaged so i can make it a 6800GT.
The_Silpheed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 04:30 PM   #11
tytlyf
Disabled

 
tytlyf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal

 
my 6600gt does flash some quick video card information before the post screen when starting the computer. I'm pretty sure there is NO way to hit a key to go into your video card bios. You just have to learn to flash it if you are trying to alter any settings
tytlyf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 05:08 PM   #12
stratcatprowlin
Senior Member

 
stratcatprowlin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MG,Brazil

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tytlyf
my 6600gt does flash some quick video card information before the post screen when starting the computer. I'm pretty sure there is NO way to hit a key to go into your video card bios. You just have to learn to flash it if you are trying to alter any settings
Your right.You have to dump the bios and edit it from there.
stratcatprowlin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-19-05, 05:37 PM   #13
ToeKneeATX
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Silpheed
Really? the 6600GT I had was the first card I ever had that had a bios that showed up before my motherboard bios, how are you supposed to enter control centre?
Anyway I'm gonna get a bog-standard 6800 and i'm hoping the pipelines will not be damaged so i can make it a 6800GT.
just a note, all video cards have a bios that shows up before the motherboard bios. whether or not your monitor turns on fast enough to catch it is another story.
ToeKneeATX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 04:08 AM   #14
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
make sure aa/af is disabled and that your chipset drivers are installed. Games will still run half decent because they are so cpu intensive, even a 1100 3dmark score is fine for games but you need to get the full performance
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 11:32 AM Thread Starter   #15
The_Silpheed
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
thanks for all the help, but as I said I gave up and took it back, I'll be getting a 6800 now, does anyone know how a normal 6800 compares with a 6600gt?
The_Silpheed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-05, 12:29 PM   #16
brickout
Member

 
brickout's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bozeman

 
It's about on par with an overclocked 6600GT, but you might be able to unlock pipes/shaders then overclock...Then it will be much better :

Good luck.

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
c2d/4GB ddr3/4850/Antec Fusion
---------------------------------------------------
Lappy
u7300/4GB ddr3/8400

---------------------------------------------------
heatware
brickout is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?