• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

"gaming" laptop recommendations?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Chowdy

Hey all.

I'm totally new to the laptop world. I've established that i want a windows xp based notebook. I'm looking at an around ~$1k-1.3k notebook with light gaming abilities. By light i mean all of the games of yesterday. Counter-strike 1.6, WC3, ROSE Online (more of a today's game, but old looking), and maybe UT2K4.

I definitely want 512MB of RAM, as it fits nicely @ the $1k pricepoint. The best it seems that i can afford is an X300 setup. I do not understand how mobility GPUs work, as "Mobility 9700" i've heard is actually an overclocked core similar to the 9600 desktop version.

Can an X300 run these games? If not, what will at good resolutions and FPS?

PS: The rest will be composed of probably a 1.5Ghz P-M.

Take a look at the Asus Z71V it runs on the Sonoma platform. DDR2 dual channel, Able to use Pentium-M and has a 6600GT in it. People overclock it and usually get ~4500 points in 3D2K5.
It was one of the laptops I was looking at while shopping but it's slightly heavier then I would have liked.

unless you spend $3000 + for Dell XPS 2

Come on guys dont talk about stuff you don't know.............

I have a Dell i8600 that I bought for 1300........Mobility Radeon 9600 and I can play UT2004, Half Life 2 ( on low albeit), and Doom III ( needs a gig of ram). My friend has a 9200 with the Mobility 9700 and he can play Far Cry on max settings and still get 40 fps.