Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Need precision temp sensor

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-05, 08:32 AM Thread Starter   #1
redwraith94
Member

 
redwraith94's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Post Need precision temp sensor


I need a precision temperature sensor, it has to be accurate to at least one degree, preferable better though, I want it to sense the onboard thermal diode of my athlon xp barton 2600 socke A, I hate mobo sensors, I want it to be more accurate then a mobo sensor, and I don't want to buy a new mobo, but I will if I have to. Is there any aftermarket boxes/boards etc. that are made to read the diode? I am assuming that I would have to solder a couple of pins, which is fine.

I also posted this in the mobo section, so I am not really asking about mobo sensors here, unless they are uber precise.
redwraith94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-05, 10:40 AM   #2
Ven0m
Member

 
Ven0m's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warsaw, Poland

 
What you try to do isn't too common, but I think that someone here on forums has tried this before and posted something about it. Generally, I think that datasheets taht you can get from www.amd.com might help with this project. A problem might be external sensor interferring with mobo.
Ven0m is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-05, 11:10 AM   #3
LabRat23
Member

 
LabRat23's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: VA

 
Take a look at Fluke's website, if I remember right, they are accurate to a quarter of a degree C.
LabRat23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-05, 02:52 PM Thread Starter   #4
redwraith94
Member

 
redwraith94's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Lightbulb


Quote:
Originally Posted by LabRat23
Take a look at Fluke's website, if I remember right, they are accurate to a quarter of a degree C.
they are too expensive, thank you though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m
What you try to do isn't too common, but I think that someone here on forums has tried this before and posted something about it. Generally, I think that datasheets taht you can get from www.amd.com might help with this project. A problem might be external sensor interferring with mobo.
I have checked the data sheets, thank you, do you know if they make complete kits for less than ~$60 though? https://shop.maxim-ic.com/cgi-bin/Ma...w/MAX6654EVKIT

Last edited by redwraith94; 04-22-05 at 04:55 PM.
redwraith94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?