Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

[WTA]Heat or SP2 problem on 9800pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-05, 05:46 AM Thread Starter   #1
davidsk2001
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
[WTA]Heat or SP2 problem on 9800pro


Recently my 9800pro have artifact when playing game. This problem occurs when i play Underground 2. I already patch the Underground 2 to versoin 1.2 already. But i play gangland with no artifact- clean and clear.

I think the card no have temperature problem because i no change the stock heatsink, some more i just brought it about 3 or 4 month only. The heatsink and fan are clean.

I scan artifact using ATI tray tools with no problem.
Will be driver problem?? But i have use the latest driver from official ATI website.
By the way, i do only install windows SP1 only because i cant install windows SP2.

I wanna ask that do the SP2 affect my game have artifact?? also that my friends say that my power connector are abit hot compare to his computer.

thanks.
davidsk2001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-05, 12:57 PM   #2
IrishAssassin
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal

 
I don't think SP2 would get you artifacts, maybe your video card is overheating while playing NFSU2. Check your temperatures.

__________________
Gaming Rig
cpu - Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.5 gHz
mobo - Asus P7P55-E LX
vid card - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB @ 850core/1700shader/2000memory
ram - GSkill GBNQ 3x2gb DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24 1T
hd - WD Black 640gb - OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
psu - Corsair TX750
sound - Asus Xonar Essence STX
case - Lian-Li PC-60FNWB
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
PSN: Aenimosity
IrishAssassin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-05, 01:09 PM   #3
Avg
Senior Member

 
Avg's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NY, Long island

 
Is the card overclocked, have you ever removed the hsf, is where you live getting warmer? did anything change? run atitool and scan for artifacts. Nfu2 is much more demanding then gangland, so it might just be that your card is overheating only when playing more demanding games while gangland won't be stressing enough to cause the card to overheat.

__________________
Avg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-05, 11:00 PM   #4
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
Don't delay, get a fan blowing directly on the card. Last year I RMAed a 9800Pro, the fan melted after about 5 hours gaming and artifacts were off the charts. I couldn't get a 9800Pro replacement so I bumped up to a 9800XT dual fan. I still have a case fan blowing right on that sucker, awesome card, not taking any chances. If you solve the problem with a fan, and satisfied with the card, get an Arctic Cooler for it.

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-05, 12:26 AM Thread Starter   #5
davidsk2001
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
i have run scan artifact in ATI tray tool but no artifact are detect. Everything are find in ATI tray tool. Now the problem for me is really is SP2 problem or heat problem. Is happen before, but after i reformat my windows (due to some problem then format it) then everything before okay already. No more artifact and game are play smooth. But now happen again, but this time happen is because i no install SP2 and use the latest ATI driver.
From ati website notice that must have SP2 to install their driver. So will be the problem for it??

thank again.
davidsk2001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-05, 12:27 AM Thread Starter   #6
davidsk2001
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
davidsk2001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-05, 10:10 PM   #7
mruno
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
i have the same problem but with eve online. i rma'd my old card because this problem affected every game i played. but now with the new card they sent me it only does it on eve online as far as i can tell. i do not have my card overclocked and my case temp stays at 40C. tonight i just installed winxp on another partition and the problem is still there. i have tried numerous catalyst and omega drivers with negative results.

eve online pixels
the pixelation continously gets worse unless i change the gfx settings in the game which refreshes the entire screen. if i do not do this or exit the game the pixelation progressively gets worse and eventually reboots the computer.
mruno is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-05, 10:53 PM   #8
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
Pop your case, turn house fan to blow in case, run game.
No artifacts its a heat problem.
See artifacts, bad card, bug in software or driver problem.

Have you run Prime on the box, this dosen't look like a normal GPU artifact, but bad texture mapping coming from the cpu or system ram.

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-05, 09:57 AM   #9
mruno
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
i tried the fan and no change. ill try prime
mruno is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-05, 12:15 PM Thread Starter   #10
davidsk2001
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
by the way, i would like to ask that why my accerelation of AGP all are set to off? will be affect the system stability and occur artifact?
davidsk2001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-05, 08:39 AM   #11
mruno
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2005

 
ran prime 14h w/o any errors
mruno is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-05, 06:58 PM   #12
xb1az3x
Member

 
xb1az3x's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL

 
i get the same problem with my card too artifacts in one game and no others its wierd.
xb1az3x is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?